We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TIght quarters...”

Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Darjeeling Half-Day Private Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #3 of 98 things to do in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“TIght quarters...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The zoo was actually established to conserve and preserve Himalayan fauna. I had read that Padmaja Naidu Zoo had a breeding program for snow leopards and this was my reason for wanting to visit the zoo. Sadly, the program was inactive when we visited and we only saw one very unhappy snow leopard. The program was unsuccessful due to the disturbance of visitors and the leopards were moved. However the zoo is a well-known center for captive breeding of other endangered species and draws hundreds of thousands of visitors each year.

I was very disappointed with the animal enclosures. The cages were too small - and the large cats especially - paced aimlessly. I found it to be a little distressing and surprising for a zoo that has the types of programs that this one does.

The setting was very green, peaceful and clean(!) and there were some wonderful animals including Tibetan wolves, red pandas, Himalyan bears, and other rare alpine animals. India's only Siberian tigers are here as well. The wolves were very playful and the red pandas were very cute.

If in Darjeeling, it's worth a stop to see some animals that you might not otherwise see. Hopefully the snow leopards will be back.

The zoo is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Entrance fee is INR 100, with an additional small charge for cameras.

Address: Off Jawahar Rd. W

Phone: 354/225/3709


Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Donna_in_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    612
    190
    28
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good number of animals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Visited the zoo on the 7th. The zoo is not very large, but well maintained. The main attractions are the red panda, snow leopard,clouded leopard,tiger and Himalayan wolves. There is an entry fee of INR 40 and a charge for camera. The animals were well behaved but the same cannot be said about the people visiting them. The people were very loud, teasing the animals and throwing food in some enclosures.
Good zoo bad people.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ManishaRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful and well maintained zoos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Apart from boasting of a remarkable list of guests in its portfolio, the Zoo is treat to visit considering the statisfaction it provides by seeing a place which is so well maintained. The enlcosures are clean and the animals kept there,seem to be properly taken care of..Red Panda & Snow Leopard are the major attractions of the place..The Himalayan Mountaineering Instt is also located nearby,which is worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sourav2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
220 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fantastic.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic.... I can understand that your on a trip and visiting a Zoo is not on your list. But wait a minute reading this review. Some of the animals present in this Zoo are rare and cannot be seen else were like the Himalayan Leopard. The Zoo is not very big and an hour or so is enough to visit it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RohitDassani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were extremely impressed with both the Zoo and also the Mountaineering Institute. Upon walking through the gates of the zoo we were greeted by a Himalayan Black Bear in the first enclosure, whom seemed to love sticking its tongue out!

We also saw leopards, tigers, blue sheep, yak, red pandas, wolves, deer, langur monkeys and various birds.

The Mountaineering Institute is located at the far north side of the zoo and contains a lot of pictures, and interesting information about the attempts to climb Mount Everest from the 1920’s to present day, as well as original articles of clothing and equipment used to climb Everest.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jcooper87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park also viewed

 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing