We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Kunga Restaurant

Kunga Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Small, cosy, and friendly. Everything we tried was good but I especially liked all the different thukpa, especially the ones with homemade noodles. If it's full, it's worth waiting a bit for a table.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    153
    36
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tibetan food at its best”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The momos, the thukpa, the shabbaleys - you name it and they produce it steaming hot and wonderful to taste.

The family run business has been one of our favourite destinations in Darjeeling over the years.

You will always leave with a smile on your face.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dipurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hearty noodle soup”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Kunga Restaurant is a small, simple, no fuss eatery which serves a good variety of delicious Tibetian food. We ate lunch at Kunga twice and enjoyed the thenthuk (veg or non-veg noodle soup), momos (fried or steamed dumplings) and thukpa bhathuk (think Italian gnocchi in soup). Very good value for money and excellent location on Ghandi Road which is a few steps away from the Mall. Be prepared to wait for the food but it is worth it! The noodles and momos are handmade when you place your order. And finally, remember to ask for the excellent chilli sauce to go with the momos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_1-plus-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“didnt like the food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

momos seemed half cooked. we ordered chicken chowmein and pork fry ... somehow gulped the chowmein and pork was so smelly that we threw off the entire thing

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mayurisinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful tibetian and chinese food!!!!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I visited the place very recently. I had ordered for a plate of momos, fried rice and a chicken manchurian. The food was bland, with loads of garlic and no salt. I would recommend anyone visiting the Kunga, to re-consider their options and instead head to Dekevas, where the food is way better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srutarshi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kunga Restaurant also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Kunga Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing