We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for pure veg food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lunar

Hotel Lunar
Ranked #18 of 111 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in a prime location in the very heart of the city from where everyone can enjoy the real charm and natural beauty of Mt. Kanchenjunga. Well maintained rooms with attached baths, Plasma TV, Telephone and STD facility, laundry & dry cleaning, on call doctor, taxi/car arrangements for sight seeing and pickup/drop, credit cards facility (VISA, MASTER) and all these along with 24 hrs personalized room service.
Pune
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent for pure veg food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

It seemed to be a big hit with tourists who wanted pure veg food, and it actually served some decent food. The food in these places is not too good but it was quite Okay here, worth a try.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SMAPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    55
    22
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food, views, ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had most of our meals at this lovely vegetarian restaurant during our 2D/3N stay in Darjeeling. Service is excellent and prompt. The portion sizes are generous. The ambience is lovely. There is a lot of variety on offer. I highly recommend the soups, dosas and the special tea. It is a bit pricy by Darjeeling standards, but totally worth it.
At breakfast, we could get amazing views of the Kanchenjunga mountains from here, when seated at the table in the rightmost corner.This was such a treat as later in the day, the clouds would invariably obstruct the view of the mountain. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2pence_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the review :) We are glad you had a wonderful experience.
Looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
338 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Hospitality is excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

South Indian, north Indian and fast foods available. Dosas are very good. Quiet clean, calm and peaceful place. Hospitality is excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ASMTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoudhary87, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lunar, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much :) We are glad you had a wonderful experience.
Looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good veg restuarant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had read the reviews on this site and decided to try it out when the hotel we were staying goofed up on a simple curd rice request. And was pleasantly surprised. Don't be put off by the approach to the restaurant, the food compensates for everything else. Clean, simple and good homely food. Had the dal tadka,phulka,paneer butter masala and rice. Portions are good for 2 people. Service was quick. Overall, excellent!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ManishaRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A late night option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you get hungry after 8:30 p.m. you might find it difficult to find an open place in Darjeeling. Lunar Restaurant is one of 2 options and definitely a the better one. The food is fresh and delicious and the service is quick and efficient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chilik58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Lunar also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Hotel Lunar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing