We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”
Review of Glenary's

Glenary's
Ranked #3 of 117 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The service was sub par in the restaurant side. The food was not at all something to write anything positive about. We tried it twice for dinner on Lonely Planet's recommendation, we were totally let down. The only upside was that they serve beer.

Some more details : the naan bread was a pita warmed up and stuffed with garlic. The tandoori chicken was poorly seasoned. The server forgot to order a dish from the kitchen for us and then proceeded to argue with me saying we never ordered it. Note that this is after he corrected me because I pronounced it wrong.

The bakery on the main floor is nice for a small snack but is limited in what they serve.

Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,627 - 1,631 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Glenary's is right in the middle of the market and was bustling with activity. It was charming-the decor like old world British times. The food was also typical- fish, baked vegetables, cheese balls. The bakery on the ground floor was exceptional. Warm soft walnut cake and breads....yum!

Thank pratimagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I am a regular visitor to the hills of Darjeeling and of the many attractions a visit to the restaurant is a must for us. The aroma that hits the nose as one push the door is enough to make one fall in love with with the joint.
The food that follows transport one to a dreamworld. Be it anything or the great continental spread.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sudipkroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It was my first time visit to this old and so called heritage restaurant and m just loving it..The ambiance,service,food just too good..I had my lunch there..the price is reasonable and standard compare to other restaurants of its standard..The restaurant was decorated nicely for the Christmas Eve and New Year.. Cakes and other bakery items are really good..You can try out sizzlers(Only 2 types of sizzlers available)..I ll always recommend to try this at least once while you are in this beautiful hill station..It will add a feather in your experience..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anirbanSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Glenarys is iconic. What Flurys is to Calcutta, Wengers is to Delhi, Glenarys is to Darjeeling. One of the legends that made up the flavour and fame of the city.
But today, its sad to see it as a shadow of itself. Quality is no-where topnotch, I would think compromised by pricing issues. Wengers in Delhi is priced roughly double in almost everything (Bakery Items), but product remains uncompromised. I would have liked to see the same with Glenarys, but was disappointed both in quality and freshness. Coffee is from a CCD machine so nothing out of the ordinary, tea gets overbrewed but the time it gets to the table, but all you would go there for is for nostalgia of the place that once was a legend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ashisharchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for taking out your time to review us on trip advisor. A lot of people do find our prices on the lower side which suits them perfectly but we do not compromise on the quality for price. We use all branded products from our cream to chocolates etc those that are present in the market around here. We do not believe in giving inferior products or over charging our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenary's also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Glenary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing