We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laquire Chocolate”
Review of Glenary's

Glenary's
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Diamond Harbour, India
1 review
“Laquire Chocolate”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Its a excellent restaurant. The most loving thing is that the laquire chocolate, which is very special and its availability from 1 pm to 2 pm. Price is Rs. 90/100gm. This is chocolate contains excellent laquire.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandyrocksever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the Liquor chocolates, its one of our signature chocolates here and it does get over by the evening, hope you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    676
    236
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bit expensive”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

the bakery items are good and competitively priced. However, restaurant seems to be overpriced. The food was ok and quantity served is less.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sumit0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us . We are glad that you enjoyed our baked products .We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Riding off the back of it's Lonely Planet reputation”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Good points - It's okay for a quick cake and the views are good. Bad points - The free WiFi for customers is painfully slow. The food is quite overpriced for what you get - when I complained that my portion of French fries consisted of only 12 French fries, the waiter just laughed, pointed at it and said "quantity". When we ordered the bill the same waiter took the trouble to carefully explain that the VAT they add does not include service charge, which is convenient, as I found the service to be pretty poor.

We have since returned and found the service by another waiter to be better, however the whole place seems to have an over-inflated opinion of itself and there are much better places to eat, for less money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking out your time to review us. Your feedback as a customer is very important to improve ourselves in areas we may lack. I just want to explain to you and especially all our foreign customers( who have asked us about VAT) that VAT ( valued added Tax) is a tax imposed by the government of India and since we are registered with it we do have to add it to our bill. In the bakery VAT is included in the price of the product but In case of the Coffee shop , restaurant and the buzz the price quoted is exclusive of VAT.
Services charges are only applicable to Hotels according to the laws. ( yes I guess this must be confusing and ridiculous to hear!!!).Well I hope I have been able to clear this out for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
587 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Over-rated and Stressful”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Everyone wants to eat at Glenary's but the queues are now ridiculous and with far too many selfish people hogging the tables and sitting there for hours with their laptops and postcards, it's becoming almost impossible to get a table. The tea and coffee are good but by European standards the cakes are very poor - I put it all down to the lack of eggs in most of the cakes which leave them dry and stale-tasting. Glenary's then try to compensate with lashings of really synthetic cream.

Ordering is a tricky business. If you can actually find a table, you're then faced with shuttling back to the counter to try to describe what you want.

If I want coffee and a cake, I want it in relaxing and laid back surroundings and Glenary's is just too stressful for me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
First of all i would like to thank you for our feed back ,it has been helpful to us to enable us to do better.We do want all our customers to feel at home and when they have taken the table to write their post cards or surf the net we do not want to be rude ask them to leave and I guess in a way this does create a problem for space , however we do want to increase our sitting capacity which I guess will take some time and so we are grateful to our customers for bearing it up with us. Ordering at the bakery and coffee shop to new comers must be a little confusing , but to let you and our future customers know is before you sit down for your coffee please order you bakery items in the counter and then sit down at the table.We are also working on this issue and trying to come up with a way to make this easier for the customers. well we hope the next time you do get to visit us in the future the new systems might be in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandra, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An Old World Charm”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The ground floor consists of a variety of bakery items and pastries which are excellent. At the back is the dining area where one can indulge in a breakfast/brunch, snacks, juices etc. The first floor is the main dining area cum bar for lunch and dinner. We indulged in fish and chips and beef roast, done very well. The service is prompt, waiters courteous, well mannered and dressed clean. This place is an old world charm, from a by gone era.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your experience here with us. We hope that you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenary's also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Glenary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing