We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”
Review of Glenary's

Glenary's
Ranked #2 of 117 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My favorite restaurant in whole of Darjeeling. Excellent food and beer is restaurant. The bakery is good. The basement pub Buzz used to be fun but a bit lifeless lately.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sandakphu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your experience here with us. Of course we used to have live bands playing in the Buzz below but due to the political scenario we have had to stop the bands from playing. Hopefully once the situation here in Darjeeling improves we will be able to resume the bands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,614 - 1,618 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Glenary's a short distance from the Mall is a must visit for every tourist. It has a nostalgic charm about it, right from the old telephone booth to the counters. The freshly baked cake and cookies are delicious. It also sports an internet cafe which is frequented by foreign travellers. The home made chocolates too are a treat as is the pork pickle. You can buy to your hearts content yet feel you have missed out on something vital. The people manning the cash counter are courteous and seem in no big hurry, so take your own time. We came across kids, young and old from nearby schools flocking in large numbers to buy birthday cakes for their mates. The restaurant area at the back is awash with sunlight and one can idle for hours surfing the net using the free WIFI. Strangely it is not password protected. All in all a great place to hang out. If you want info on what's going on in the social circles just read the placards at the entrance. A number of social initiatives have seen the light of the day thanks to Glenary's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rajesh-Born2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for taking out and writing a review on us through your eyes. It has been a great joy reading your review and knowing that you understand as to what we strive to do here in Glenary's . Of course at times we do fail but all the more we try and pick ourselves up to do better and patrons like yourself greatly encourage us.We hope that you will visit us again and we wish you our heartfelt love and gratitude from the whole Glenary's Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

In clear day you can have a beautiful view of mountain Kanchenjunga. They serve good caffe latte and have fresh variety of bakery stuff. It is a good place for foreigners to meet. They also have free wifi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yoram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us. We are glad that you have enjoyed our products and we thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Place for varieties of tasty cakes, pastries. sizzerlers are amazing and North Indian fare.They also prepare some pork items. nice Mt Kanchendjunga can be seen from the hotel on sunny days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank susmitbehera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for taking out your precious time to write a review about us, we greatly appreciate it, we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your experience here and our products. We hope that you will visit us again. Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Visited Darjeeling on 17-19 Oct, 2013 & had three BFs at Glenary's. We simply love its cakes and breakfast items. The cakes, cookies, chocolates, flavoured Darjeling tea and the ambiance... its great. However, the persons on the restaurant side (for breakfast) seem to be a bit rude. Be it while replying to "naive" queries about food items or saying that only two cups will be provided (I had requested one additional) against a small pot of tea. Or does it reflect the present scenario. However, I have been to Glenary's previously and will visit in future irrespective of the irritant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anjan0981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you fro reviewing us ....we are extremely sorry for that particular staff's behavior and we greatly appreciate that you will still be visiting us in the future.We hope to make it up to you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenary's also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Glenary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing