We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to leave early!”
Review of Tiger Hill

Tiger Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$196.00*
and up
Explore Queen Of Hills Day Tour in Darjeeling
Ranked #5 of 99 things to do in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Be sure to leave early!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We left around 4:00AM, shared a taxi (11 people in an 8-seater jeep!) and joined the convoy up the bumpy road to Tiger Hill. A ticket costs about 10 rupees to go up and stand outside, but I probably should have paid the 40 rupees to go upstairs in the building- much less crowded and probably a better view. Yes, it's busy and crowded and cold and I can see how it's not everyone's cup of tea. But I enjoyed the experience and the view very much. If you don't plan on going, there are other plenty of lovely places to watch the sunrise around Darjeeling.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    360
    223
    76
    67
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhubri, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Its a great place to see the Sunrise. Hotel had organize a rented car to go there. You should be ready and go out morning at 4 am then u can feel and see the beauty of nature its a place like heaven

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AshimMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“over-rated”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

the sheer pain of waking up at 3 am hurtling up and down horrible roads, packed in to a tiny place like sardines... is amplified when there is a fog which is quite regular...trust me the view from quite a few place around darjeeling of the kanchezonga is better...and plus even if u go there dont buy the tickets for the building....the view from the outside is far better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank drshrikant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“View from Tiger Hill”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fantastic view. Shocking roads and a shell of a building at the top. Up to 200 vehicles on an early morning with the resultant traffic jam. Still worth the effort to make the trek and see the milky sun rise from below the horizon. The view as the mountains are illuminated is memorable. The ladies selling thermos coffee was welcome too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Groundhog_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spoilt by Nepal”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I was corrupted by the beauty and quiet in Nepal when viewing sun soaked mountain environments. So when I woke up at 330am for a taxi ride up a mountain to be caught in honking traffic jams, to be squashed in with 100s of other people, the attraction was lots to me. The weather wasn't on my side as clouds swiftly obscured the mountains, but got a glimpse and loved that part. The sun rising threw the clouds created a great orange globe as was also nice....... Most people there seemed more interested in this than the mountains it seemed.

There are coffee sellers up there that sell a thimble of milked, sugared coffee for R10 which was enjoyable to ward off the cold.

Helpful?
Thank Pumbah_pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Hill also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Tiger Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing