We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced & nasty manager who doesnt care about residents.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Star Hotel
Ranked #38 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced & nasty manager who doesnt care about residents.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

The rooms are average sized with a small tv and very basic, they are not cleaned properly, nor is the bathroom which began to smell pretty badly before I left as there was no ventilation and the stagnant water probably didn't help, the towels too were disgusting but were replaced with new ones by the end of my stay, and despite paying such a huge amount for the room -2500rs - they DO NOT INCLUDE A HEATER in the price for the odd days it is really cold. The location is 10 minutes walk from the main Mall Rd uphill so you better be fit as you will be going up and down all day. There are plenty of other hotels that are the same but for far less money and closer to the main tourist area - for example Pineridge is actually right in the Chowrastha (main square)and is only 1200 per night, and if you walk only a few minutes up from the Mall road immediately you get lots of new and old hotels with rooms from 100 - 1500 rs. If you want a spectacular view of the mountains Birds Eye Lodge is 15 mins walk uphill and has the most breathtaking views of the mountains for only 600-1000rs and though the room is smaller it is newly decorated and perfectly comfortable with its own small bathroom - no heater here either though but at these prices I wouldn't complain.
PLUS POINTS ARE FEW: The hotel cook is good and very helpful about making food the way you like it and quite tasty too. The boys are smiley and helpful too and help out with minor things if you ask them too.
Biggest reason I would not go again though is the very rude and frankly nasty manager who spends all his time sucking up to the tour operators who bring lots of Bengali & Bangladeshi families to the hotel and most likely line his pockets too. Other than these people he doesn't care about the hotel or the residents - just one example was when I had asked the receptionist to book me a taxi the following morning and despite reminding her she forgot which I kind of expected so I politely asked the manager to get me a taxi in the morning and he rudely told me that was not their job and that he wasn't interested in helping me. The taxis stood right outside their front door, and I had seen him doing it for the tour families. He was a horrible man, but more importantly just didn't care about the people staying in the hotel or what they thought as the hotel gets filled by the tour operators..

Room Tip: If you still choose this hotel then the rooms at the back are quieter as they overlook the town belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farahdiba76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
31
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

pros:
1. really good and big room.
2. excellent view from the bed, of the mighty himalayas.
3. on time and dedicated room service.
4. hot water available always, be it the geyser(24 hrs available, except in cases of loadshedding) and almost always hot water available for drinking( since the normal temp mineral water is quite cold).
5. airy rooms with proper amenities.
6. very very helpful and cooperative staff, from the managers to the attendents.
7. regular cleaning of rooms and not so costly laundry service.

cons.....
1. narrow, congested and wornout approach road which can make a very bad 1st impression.
2. worn out carpets at places with torn matress cover, well hidden though, with laundry cleaned bed sheets.
3. not so good food, just average with very very little variation.

USP::::::::::::always smiling staff and always ready to help.
also, the entire travel was planned and arranged by mr.hari prasad yadav and the cars provided were not only well maintained and in perfect conditions, the drivers were excellent. not to forget, the total trip transport cost is quite cheap and reasonable.

Room Tip: have a talk with Mr. Hari or Mr.Navin. not only will they help you but they would also guide you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spandan030506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittagong
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our room was spacious. good enough for two. the bathroom was EXTREMELY COLD due to the marble flooring and walls. the view from the room was spectacular. Got a glimpse of Mt. K during our second day only ;(
overall i would rate this hotel a decent 3 stars. would return again.

Room Tip: Facing Mt. Kanchenjunga. higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masum k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

When we entered the room it was not a pleasant feeling. Washrooms were not clean, we had to call the attendant and get it cleaned again. Flush tubs were leaking, bed linens were not clean. We asked for fresh linens again but that was also not clean. The rooms are mutli cornered as if the there was no space for a good room to construct.
But when we came to dining hall the picture was different, nice music, fresh food nice ambiance. I would rate this as just an average hotel with minimum facilities. But the food is good.

Room Tip: We had booked it through travel agent. Please make sure that while booking the hotel selected with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a horrible exp in Pelling for Hotel. But this is one is exceptional. We had sigh of relief once we entered in the room.

Big is Size. Neat and Clean. Perfect Bed. Window is large of Mirror with eye catching view of Darjeeling.

Food at its par. Service absolutely Good.

I can bet again on it.

Room Tip: Go for 4th Floor Rooms for excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RVDarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The food was very good. Hotel staff is very co operative and humble. Rooms are very good with nice cleanness.location of the hotel is also good,near to the taxi stand and market.

overall good option to stay in Darjeeling in budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaileshu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nice Clean rooms, Friendly and hard Working Staffs, Location is excellent for marketing. One side faces the Kanchenjunga and looks great. Darjeeling itself closes down by 8 so streets might seem deserted but it's safe some what to roam around till 10 like other cities. The biggest plus point is staff's do not talk rubbish or promote their hotel even knowing the faults. Every info we got was to the point and none seemed for me to rate this as bad. Hotel might not be a 3 star hotel but the rooms and cleanliness is worth comparing :-) . And tariff is also not high :-)

Room Tip: try for the Kanchenjunga faced rooms. All rooms are same and clean so no need to bother about cleanl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anobik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.0 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#51 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#40 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Rink Heritage
Hotel The Rink Heritage
#37 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel White Yak
Hotel White Yak
#25 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#50 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: 11, H. D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing