We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everage hostel”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Star Hotel
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Normally i dont write the review but this time i have to write.I choose this hotel because of the name North star but there were no stars.location is not very good narrow lama road,dusty &crowded.The service was very basic.i dont know if the management knows the meaning of hospitality.They dont care about the customers, just try to fill the rooms.Most of the time no hotwater for shower.I hardly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john303881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have booked the hotel online for two night and three days. such a bad experience. staying at this type of hotel ruin our entire trip to darjleeng. the management only cares how to fill up the rooms. they don't know what is hospitality and how to provide service to the customer. very less staffs to maintain the entire hotel. only two nos. of maid to clean the entire 36 room. although the room boy Arif is a good boy and try his best . but such a worst management don't care about the customer. you can say no service at all. people pls avoid this hotel, don't be fool with their online advertisement. otherwise your trip will be a nightmare.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkd1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

An average budget hotel within a 10 minute walk to the Mall road.
It is better to carry a printed copy of your booking receipt to avoid confusion for the room booked and the room which could be provided.
The amenities are not that great.. like there is no lift in the hotel and so its quite a problem for the elderly to climb the floors on which their rooms are located. The bathroom cleaning services also could be bettered.

The good thing is, it is pretty walkable to the Mall road, the management is friendly and the room service staff is very helpful. The rooms are decently spacious too and provide a good view of the town on a clear day.

Overall, an OK place. Not too good a choice but not considering the tariff, not too bad either.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank B_3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

we went to Darjeeling without booking. knocked on a few doors before staying at this place. had to bargain tariff. they have family rooms for 4. views are good if clear weather. restaurant below is ok for dinner. this street is a busy one as all in india. hotel can be better or even worse.....

Room Tip: surely backside rooms to get views and avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

By mistake i booked this hotel for 4 days so i have too stay there because i did made the payments,they promised me three star facilities but later i found that they are bunch pf theivies who dont care about hospitality ...never come to this hotel because
1)Location::the location where this hotel is situated is pathetic,you will found a dustbin directly in front of the hotel main gate,and this hotel is in a very narrow street which isolates you from the beautiful view of darjeeling
2)No good Cabs ::I asked for a cab to visit darjeeling ,,and they asked a price of 2800 Rs,,where as later i got the cab from outside in only 1800 Rs(so they are just money makers)
3)Bad food:Each and every time i ordered some food either it was not tasty or it was not hot
Over all i would say you guys please dont spoil your hard earned money on these types of hotels ,,go for good hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I visited darjeeling in nov for business purpose and stayed here for 2 nights.

the overall experience at the hotel was okay. the room was spacious. on a clear day one can see kancendzonga from the room.Food at the hotel was delicious. the staffs were polite and courteous.

the hotel manager was helpful in arranging taxi for airport drop .

overall a decent place to stay in if traveling on budget . the location of teh hotel is also convenient . its close to the mall. some 15 mins walk . locality was slightly congested.

Room Tip: try and get the kanchendzonga view rooms only . non view rooms are not good and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuhinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Avarage quality. rooms have all standard facilities. Fridge was working well. Hot water machine contains small amount of water. Extra charge for room heater. Good window view at mountain view rooms. Restaurant is good. Location is bit far from main buzzing area of Darjeeling.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saeedstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#84 of 98 in Darjeeling
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
0.7 mi away
Himalayan Brook
Himalayan Brook
#51 of 98 in Darjeeling
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Finestays Shanti Priya
Finestays Shanti Priya
#67 of 98 in Darjeeling
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: 11, H. D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: $22 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing