We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and nice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kurseong Tourist Lodge
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Been to Kurseong for work but once you are in a hill station it is always a pleasure after work. Stayed in Kurseong Tourist Lodge for the first time. Your stay in Kurseong totally changes if you stay here compared to other hotels in the market place. The location is fantastic, just away from the hustle bustle of the marketplace. The staff is quiet friendly and helpful. Majority of the interior work is done by wood/equivalent feel. The rooms are nice with a balcony overlooking the majestic Himalayas. The food is good though there was not much variety but its acceptable.
Bed was clean and comfortable and it wasn't stinking in the damp cold weather. There was room heater and hot water available all the time.
A nice experience and in Kurseong it is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nathuspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Kurseong Tourist Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 89 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had lunch in the restaurant both during our onward journey and return journey. Excellent food - Momos were very well prepared also the fried rohu fish was very good. Very good eating place for any traveler. At the same time, it is very moderately priced restaurant.

Room Tip: Momos are excellent
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stopped for late lunch en route to Darjeeling. There is a restaurant and cafe here. There is also a nice nursery. We ordered a plate of veggie momos. They were served steaming hot and and it was so delicious that we ordered one more plate! The tea here was great too! Would recommend this place for food.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 2pence_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

we stopped on the way up to Darjeeling momo's veggie rolls and tea for less than £2 what more do you want? Well the views would help which these did staff were very nice and the food came hot and quickly try it you will like it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've spent all my growing up years in this town hence I have never had any reason to stay at this place. However, I go there often when I'm back in my hometown. This place has the most delicious momos (called dimsums in more posh places) I've had. The view from the place is breathtaking directly facing the Himalayas. The wooden feel makes it warm and pleasant.

Perhaps the waiters could be more professional. I noticed that they hardly bothered to entertain local guests but were hovering around foreigners. On my last visit, I had to wait for 10 mins before I was able to catch the barman's attention in a relatively empty bar. A more warm approach from the waiters, ability to speak basic English and perhaps a uniform can be good additions to a beautiful experience at Kurseong Tourist Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhishek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at this place in June 2012. When we normally think in terms of a govt maintained tourst lodge (or anything for that matter) a certain image comes to our mind (vis a vis) a pvt one. With this in mind we reached Kurseong. As we walked inside this small tourist lodge, the ideas started changing...by the time we reached our room, we had a completely different opinion. I wonder how many pvt hotels in a small place like Kurseong has so many good amenities in it. The rooms were splendid and offered an open view of the Kanchendzonga (it's a different thing that we were unlucky to not get to see it because of the bad weather). The room came with a small balcony, perfect for having the morning cup of tea while enjoying the sight of the rolling valley right below the balcony.
The staff were very helpful and courteous. The services were prompt (very prompt) and delivered with a smile (once again an exception).
The restaurant and bar is well stocked and the food is simply superb. The chicken roast that was served was excellent. The lodge is located within easy walking distance from the main town centre/railway station/taxi stand. Also this place has a fast food restaurant (separate from the main restaurant).
I would recommend this place to all the tourists who plan to halt at Kurseong. Book the rooms that come with the balcony (I think they cost 1500 per day) but its worth it. We halted at Kurseong because darjeeling was teeming with tourists and the hotel proces there were exorbitantly high. The stay made us discover more about Kurseong and we plan to return to this lodge sometime in the winter again.

Room Tip: Book the rooms that come with the balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuvarghyaDutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

i have stayed many times there as my children study there, its a comfortable stay.the staff are friendly and caring,the rooms in one side have an verandah attached to it and its simply lovely sitting there in the evening watching the lights on the hills.the resturant is average but one must eat their chicken momos.its the best place to put up in kurseong town.
.

Room Tip: choose room with a view of the hills
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukhen Kumar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darjeeling
14.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
5.2 mi away
Cochrane Place
Cochrane Place
#1 of 2 in Kurseong
254 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kurseong Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ging Tea House
Ging Tea House
#7 of 98 in Darjeeling
81 reviews
12.6 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurseong Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurseong Tourist Lodge

Address: P.O.: Kurseong, Darjeeling 734203, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $11 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Kurseong Tourist Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing