We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Darjeeling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ivanhoe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ivanhoe House
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value in Darjeeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our one night stay at Ivanhoe was very convenient. Walking distance to Chowrasta Square and the main pedestrian malls of Darjeeling, as well as Observatory Hill for a nice view of the mountains.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout and our room was very large, with the lovely character of the old building still maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lunabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is an old mansion that has been converted to a hotel. It is owned by the same company as The Windamere so it has many of the same quality of food and service at a much lower price. The room we were in was large and attractively furnished with vintage/antique furniture. There was a working fireplace, and the staff came and built a fire with wood and charcoal every night. Ask for a heater if that is not enough - it can be very cold in Darjeeling!!!

I can't say enough nice things about the staff and the service. They really are wonderful! They helped arrange our tours and transportation. The location is perfect for walking around the town or taking a little longer walk to the Zoo and Himalayan Institute. All in all, Ivanhoe was a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Staying at this hotel is like staying at an old colonial bungalow. Wooden flooring, carpeted interiors, and overall very charming interiors. The garden is a good place to enjoy a cup of hot tea on a cold morning. They have small, large and very large rooms but all of them are very comfortable. The living room and dining room make it feel like a home and the staff add to it.

It's a 5 min walk (or even less) from Chaurasta so very well located.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aharol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a small property (just 9 rooms) a short walking distance from Chaurasta where Vivian Leigh and George Mallory are supposed to have stayed. The rooms in the main wing are large and spacious. The bathroom fittings have been renovated. There are fireplaces in the rooms that actually work!! The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. One of my friends was down with a stomach bug and the manager, Amit took us to a very good doctor and was up with us until 1 am. The breakfast was generous and they gave us choices every day to pick from. We had dinner one evening and they made a delicious yellow dal and jira aloo just like we North Indians like at home. I have uploaded pictures at - https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/109721446193887907300/albums/5750091501154726577

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank npjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.9 mi away
Little Tibet Resort
Little Tibet Resort
#19 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krishna Service Apartment
Krishna Service Apartment
#28 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#24 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#8 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivanhoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivanhoe House

Property: The Ivanhoe House
Address: Below NCC Office | 4, Franklyn Prestage Road, The Mall,, Darjeeling 734101, India (Formerly Ivanhoe Hotel)
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2-storey Heritage House of India – originally built in 1871 - as a “quietly comfortable and elegant” Boarding House for British Raj families”. Famous names like ‘Vivien Leigh’ (of ‘Gone with the Wind’) and ‘Julie Christie’ (of ‘Dr. Zhivago’) used to live here. Sir George Everest, the Survey General of India (who discovered Mt. Everest as the highest point on earth) was here, along with Col.Younghusband, who led the British Expeditionary force to Lhasa, Tibet (then a forbidden country to enter). The House was also occupied by the Vicereine of India, Lady Curzon (wife of the then Viceroy); Sir Charles Bell (Indian Civil Service – British Political Officer for Sikkim, Bhutan and Tibet); George Mallory and Andrew Irvine – British mountaineers who disappeared below the summit of Everest in 1924 and alas, never returned. ‘Ivanhoe’ was, of course, one of King Arthur's beloved knights of ‘The Knights of the Round Table’ fable (or was it true?!)Today, we are delighted to see a rising tide of discerning domestic guests, who relish a stay in “an old place from the Indian Colonial days”. We also host the stays of overseas guests (with, or without, family), who feel that an old Colonial home is just right for them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Ivanhoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing