We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied!!”
Review of Fairmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Satisfied!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Good place to be. Very satisfied with the behaviour of the Manager and his communication skills. He is a HM graduate. Only drawback is that there's no restaurant. Otherwise a very good place to stay. I would surely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibirpurna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Nicely Embellished friendly surrounding for Refreshment. A great place to stay and enjoy nature with all the warmth. The hills surrounding this place is awesome.. I liked it personally n its worth giving a try....

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

First of all I would like to say that we booked this hotel at least before 15 days from the date of our arrival in Darjeeling but we received the confirmation mail only before 1 day from our departure from Kolkata even after repeatedly calling the Hotel Manager and begging for the confirmation mail.. Now when we reached the place,they immediately handed over the keys and the room was clean enough... Bathroom was also sufficiently clean with clean towels, bedsheets and blankets... The hotel does not have its own restaurant and there was no room service.. Even after we handed over the keys to the hotel manager for cleaning the room when we were busy in local sightseeing, the room was as it is with overflowing dustbin and dust on floor and bed... The TV inside the room was only for show, with only few channels and very bad quality picture and sound... We chose a view room with a view of kanchanjunga which was on 3rd floor.. The hotel manager was well behaved... In all I can say that the room was overpriced ( Rs2000/day) as compared to service and other issues...

Room Tip: choose rooms which have a view of kanchanjunga
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MADHULIMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 days.The room service is pathetic with no kitchen and restaurant in the hotel.Stinking smell from room all the time.Charged
additional for room heater.Not accepting credit card but they have mentioned the they accept all credit cards.After final payment when my family members requested to open one room for washing they didnt allow us to do so whereas all hotels in india and abroad also allow their guests to do so by giving some time to be fresh befor leaving hotel.Overall the experience is very very bad.A BIG NO FOR ALL WHO TRAVEL TO DARJEELING.Dont stay in this HOTEL.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dibbendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Coimbatore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The positives:
1) blankets - A grade
2) bathroom - neat & clean
3) view from the super deluxe room is just ok- not as publicised
4) Room Heater - effective

The Negatives:
1) only person available most of the time on the counter was a small boy who was ready with "NO" for almost any query! Did see the manager (cum owner?) Only once during check-in!
2) all that the management was more bothered about was how to charge the guests with any given query! No attempt was made to build a rapport with the guest ( at least that is the impression I got)
3) Very strict adherence to use of heater- they charged Rs.250 for the heater to be used between 8 to 6! The guy would be knocking at your door at dot 6 am! Literally! Guys, I thought I am on a holiday! ( must be a guy from military background haan!)

Bottom line: definitely no value for money paid!

Room Tip: The super deluxe rooms are a bit livable, other rooms smell of mediocrity! Make sure that you barg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveljin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Found no issues. They offer room heaters upon request.

Used the transport provided by Hotel for sight seeing and it was good.

Its located on the main Gandhi street and is accessible to local restaurants as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArunMauraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had intended to stay in Darjeeling only for a day but extended it to 3 cause the rooms were comfortable, Jeff, the guy at the front desk (also the owner) had so many great suggestions for things to do around there, the rooms were clean and you got hot water 24 hours. It's proximity to several restaurants, free wifi and warm blankets made it the perfect winter home. Jeff, realising I loved biking (I'm on a motorcycle trip across the North East, riding alone) even accompanied me to Tiger Hill at 5am in freezing cold. Mr Mistry and Jeff Mistry treated me like family having long conversations and always ensuring my safety and comfort. Fairmont is my home away from home now . I will always stay here when I come to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlankarMisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#65 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#40 of 98 in Darjeeling
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#85 of 98 in Darjeeling
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel

Property: Fairmont Hotel
Address: 10 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing