We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retreat
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Why does some one go to Darjeeling? Yes it is a hill station so there will be majority of tourist visiting this Queen of hill stations for enjoying the cold which is about 10 degrees lower than the planes. Then one has to spend the time as well. Then comes the requirement of a hotel which is very close to Mall and one can easily get in and get out from Mall. This outfit meets that requirement.Then comes the requirement of viewing Kanchanjungha from the room. Yes this hotel meets that requirement to T.
We stayed in room number 201 and could see Kanchanjungha from the bed on a clear day. So this hotel met above to criteria but for a price. The rent per day is 5000 bucks.
Mr.Sarcar GM of the hotel and Arijit Chatterjee at the reception met all our requirements with a smile.
A special word for Videsh who was serving us smilingly during our 3 days stay.
Yes in this hotel i felt as though i am at home because of the staff like Videsh and his ilk.
The food in the multi cuisine restaurant is quite tasty and fairly priced. We used to take breakfast and dinner in the hotel itself.
The room was getting cleaned every day with change of towel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing Kanchanjungha but i feel room number 201,202 and 203 give unrestricted view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    58
    13
    5
    14
See reviews for
83
39
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The lodging is well located & walking distance to the mall road. Mr. Sarkar is the only reason you would like to stay in this place. Raju from House Keeping & the room service are also warm efficient & courteous. However the place has elaborate menu card but does not have good availability of dishes. They also do not have a bar licence as well as other facilites which are required when you stay wiith your family. The heating at the place is not upto mark & inadequate & will not recommend family with children to stay here especially during winter months. They also do not have any credit card facility & you need to have ready case available for all payments. Their executive category room is the best to stay in with a falmily as it is spacious with a seperate balcony. They have a restaurant which will not useful as it does not provide good heating & as I was the only guest staying during my stay it was pointless to go there. Mr. Sarkar is a very helpful gentlemen & has planned my sightseeing on all days with vehicle. Please note without him around the staff is not able to manage the guests & you will end up managing the staff..

Room Tip: Always choose the executive room on the lobby level & next to the office..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirban44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had planned a trip to Kolkata and Andaman. I and my wife went to Kolkata from Pune on 26th. At the last minute we had to change our plan due to bad weather in Andaman and instead opted for Darjeeling. We went to this hotel un-booked, without any knowledge and fell in love with the balcony in the executive room. This balcony offers almost the same view you get from the tiger hills. The property is new, in good maintenance, the rooms are large and comfortable, service is good. And with the view on offer, this turns out to be a good choice in Darjeeling for a medium range customer like me. The hotel is neither expensive, nor cheap, but you don't get the feeling of being robbed. So i would heartily recommend this to any new traveler to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was a sort of a homecoming for me at The Retreat as I had stayed there before.but post the entire overhauling and refurbishments,it is now equipped to provide a most comfortbale for the Travleller and The Travleed.The Forever keen to provide warmth and goood service,selected and trained by The Manger Mr.D.P Sarkar make this place really live it up to its name. A True Retreat indeed with the most breathtaking view of the Kanchenjanga from your bed and comfort and cuisine to match anyother good hotel,stay at The Retreat is a must if you are visiting Darjeeling in the near future. Regards. Jayabrata Banerjee

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyban72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This month had a trip to Darjeeling with my family. Asked a driver regarding a decent hotel from where I can see KANCHANJUNGA, got reply The Retreat & Dolphin. After seeing I selected The Retreat. Reasons behind that a warm welcome with full Kanchanjunga from Lobby. The hotel is very closed to Chowrasta, cum&quite, no noise only the guest voice & the staff. It was a very very wonderfull stay at Retreat. Food was excelent, comfort stay & over all from every corner we had seen Kanchanjunga, from room, from restruarent while having breakfast. Staff were always with laughing faces. Cook Karma is very nice.

Room Tip: If pocket permits then please stay at Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolkata_avijit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Last July, I had been to Darjeeling for one day. I read about this property in this forum and so went to the place. The hotel was closed for about 7-8 months for extensive repairs and have just reopened. It is a wonderful place. You can see the entire snow clad mountain range from your room itself. I stayed in room No. 421 - you can see Mount K from the bed. after renovation, every thing was spik and span in the room, the glass front balcony and the toilet. The warm behavior of Mr. D.P. Sarkar,, their Manager, is out of the world. You would fell as if you are at home away from home. I took continental food only - it was quite yummy.

One advantage of the location of this hotel is that it is in a absolute quiet locality, yet only 5 minutes walking distance away from Mall.

Though slighly costly, I would unhesitatingly recommend the hotel to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anirban1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is actually undergoing major renovation. According to the manager the telephone cables had got burnt in a fire in an adjacent hotel.
Rooms - small
Bathrooms - new tiling, but poor water flow from the taps .. just a trickle. Very frustrating
Because of the renovation all the floors have a lot of plaster dust. I think they should have kept the hotel closed for renovation and should have resumed only after the work got completed.
Breakfast - OK. Very limited, only toast, tea, mango juice,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drsuniljain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#22 of 98 in Darjeeling
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
1.0 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#10 of 98 in Darjeeling
188 reviews
2.8 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: 15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laced by horizon-kissing green tea-estates and foggy hills, Darjeeling is the 'Queen of the Hills' in all its own splendour. For the world tourists, trekkers and globetrotters, Darjeeling is the gate to a tranquil world that is filled with enchanting and breath-taking picturesque beauty. The sunrise from atop the Tiger Hill is mysticism beyond compare. And who ever misses a walk to the Mall Road for some woollens shopping, or a ride on the famous toy-train that whistles its way through the greenery? Darjeeling will wrap you in its beauty, and your stay at The Retreat will make your trip more memorable. Here at The Retreat, you can see the Kanchenjunga peak from every room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing