We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undoubtedly the best view of Kanchanjungha... and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retreat
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly the best view of Kanchanjungha... and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Tucked away a step below near the Raj Bhawan as you take a bend to walk towards the Mall along the "Kanchanjungha view path" is this little surprise. You would perhaps not take The Retreat seriously until you stay there and gaze at the majestic Himalayas from your room. The location is their USP and I dare say that it is the best located hotel in Darjeeling as far as "Kanchanjungha views" are concerned . The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are clean with hot & cold running water (and bath tubs in some). There is glass covered balcony in two of the rooms with cane chairs and tea table from where you can have stunning views of the Himalayas. The view of the sunrise will also surprise you --- its so very beautiful that you will probably not miss Tiger Hill if you fail to go there. The staff is good and the manager D.P. Sarkar is friendly , helpful and efficient. Another plus point is the arrangement of return vehicles that this hotel does at reasonable cost. It would however be better if they can include the "heater hiring cost" to their tariff. the food was ok--- improvement is possible. Overall, a fine experience.

Room Tip: Room 411 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EsEm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    58
    11
    4
    14
See reviews for
81
38
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Retreat was exactly the place to stay if someone is looking for a home away from home.. i alwayz hd dream of having a house with a lovely view of Mt. Kanchenjunga.. n i guess dat dream wz a reality wth 4 dayz stay at retreat.. sch a serene atmosphere.. Mr.Sarkar and his excellent team made my stay in Darjeeling an amazing experience.. i didn't hd 2 bothr abt da sightseeing part evn.. it ws all arranged at a vry affordable price.. evn each and evry personnel are vry courteous and is ready 2 hlp at ny moment.. Food is gr8.. rooms are big n airy.. hot water and heater are available at all times..Vry close 2 Mall Area, it was a gr8 choice made by me.. my stay thr in da mnth of January 20-24th wz really gr8.. perfection is da motto fr all personnel in service industry.. ths da retreat team is also improvin each n evry day 2 attain perfection.. n da bst part is da fact dat the team alwayz take da opinion of da guestz and try 2 make da realistic ideas into reality.. (it is definitely not for people lukin for 5 star/royal ambiance wth sch a price, some people wnt da whole wrld evn wth $1.. cnt hlp for those ppl).. my sincere thanks and gratitude 2 Mr.Sarkar and his team..

Room Tip: Ask for Room 411.. itz da room wth best view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhaskar418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed in the hotel with my family for a week from 12th March'12 to 18th March'12. Excellent location, reasonably good rooms with great service from the members of the staff, very courteous, polite and always helpful lead by Mr. D.P. Sarkar the Manager of the hotel whose personal attention made my vacation really memorable. I have travelled to Darjeeling number of times and stayed in many good hotels but this time in Darjeeling I stayed in my home not a hotel. Thanks to Mr. sarkar and his staff members. C.K.Banerjee

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CKB2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed at the Retreat in February and I had a great experience. Mr. Sarcar (the manager of the hotel) and the members of the staff made my vacation an unforgettable experience. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The hotel was nice and clean including my room (411), which has a tea/reading room with an amazing view of Kanchenjunga and the range of the Himalayas. If you feel cold, additional warmly blankets are available and if necessary a heater can be provided. The food was excellent (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) and if requested, all meals can be made to meet your dietary needs. Nice Darjeeling hot tea was served to my room whenever asked. Additionally, Mr. Sarcar is an excellent travel adviser and if needed, he can help you making your travel arrangements for visiting nearby places and/or going trekking. Also, the hotel is located in a quite area so you can really relax and sleep quietly. In case you want to do shopping, it is a 10min walk to the local markets.
I strongly recommend this hotel when visiting Darjeeling or nearby cities. It will make your vacation memorable!!!

Room Tip: Room 411 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The hotel was freezing cold( I visited in February). However I ordered for heater then it was little better. Hot water was available for 24 hours. We had morning breakfast there and the food was good. We also had evening dinner once and it was not worth the price. The manager was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mprvlr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Can't understand HOW this place gets 4 and 5 star ratings. We always stay at hotels based on TA reviews and this is the first time we were seriously mislead.
The whole hotel is freezing cold in winter-no heating in rooms. Also no hot water for most of the time we were there. Our room was very dirty, especially the bathroom with mouldy walls and the toilet was leaking water over the floor. There was no servicing of the rooms during our stay.
The only positive for this hotel is the mountain views, but there are plenty of other places with similar views around here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTraveller1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

To all the tourists who like to enjoy Darjeeling and Kanchenjunga.
The hotel named The Retreat is simply a magnificent place to stay with all its coziness and hospitality . The rooms are simply excellent with the view of Kanchenjunga from your bed itself.
The quality of food ( including Breakfast , Lunch & Dinner)is more than good. The attention of the hotel boys towards the visitors is much more than expected. 24 hours hot water , Room Heater in extreme winter and warmth of the rooms is simply great . Lounge and dinning hall bears an aesthetic sense as well as grandeur. I suggest all the tourists to have a feel of this hotel at least once( if not more) when they visit the Queen of The Hills.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny including the scenic beauty of Kanchenjunga from the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGOSWAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.1 mi away
Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest
0.6 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#24 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: 15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laced by horizon-kissing green tea-estates and foggy hills, Darjeeling is the 'Queen of the Hills' in all its own splendour. For the world tourists, trekkers and globetrotters, Darjeeling is the gate to a tranquil world that is filled with enchanting and breath-taking picturesque beauty. The sunrise from atop the Tiger Hill is mysticism beyond compare. And who ever misses a walk to the Mall Road for some woollens shopping, or a ride on the famous toy-train that whistles its way through the greenery? Darjeeling will wrap you in its beauty, and your stay at The Retreat will make your trip more memorable. Here at The Retreat, you can see the Kanchenjunga peak from every room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing