We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Sunday Brunch”
Review of Chap Chay

Chap Chay
Ranked #44 of 6,628 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chap chay our do-it-yourself stir fry station, the first in Chennai, lets you be your own chef. You can get your stir fries made just the Way you want. Try the adventurous wok-through or pick from an Exciting ala carte menu of Asian recipes mastered by our chefs.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
656 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Service was great, food good and the ambience very pleasant. it was disappointing to see such a nice place with less than 10 guests on a sunday afternnon.

The stir fried was good, dimsums average and desserts could be more imaginative. Highly recommend this restaurant for its ambience and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fivestarholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRajD, General Manager at Chap Chay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam ! !

I personally Thank you for choosing Chap chay at The RAINTREE ST. MARYS ROAD, Chennai for your Sunday Brunch and also taking your valuable time for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for posting an excellent comment to talk about our Sunday Brunch, Your appreciations on our service, Food and Ambience will give a postive energy to all of us. We have taken a note on your comments on Dimsums and desserts and we will work towards it to make it better on your next visit.

I would like to thank you once again to give us a excellent feedback

We look forward to welcome you soon at The Raintree St. Marys Road, Chennai.

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Outstanding fish”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We did not go for the DIY stir-fry, but ordered ala carte. They had a steamed fish that was divine. It does not get crowded, so kids had lots of space.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nellipuzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We enjoyed our dining experience. Many special occasions have been celebrated there. Great food concept. Love the ambience, service and food!!! A definite thumbs up :-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrysalisworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
178 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Quality of food is very good.
Service is fast and efficient.Ambience perfect.
Lot of vegetarian options.
The best pan fried noodles I have had.Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is my son's favorite restaurant, we tend to go for the Sunday brunch which is simple but good. The make your own noodles is a hit with the kids. Unfortunately the pricing for kids adds up to be more than all the similar brunches at five stars in Chennai and as such we limit our visits to special occasions which is a shame given we live so close.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chap Chay also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Chap Chay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing