We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience once again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chap Chay

Chap Chay
Ranked #56 of 6,589 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chap chay our do-it-yourself stir fry station, the first in Chennai, lets you be your own chef. You can get your stir fries made just the Way you want. Try the adventurous wok-through or pick from an Exciting ala carte menu of Asian recipes mastered by our chefs.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited again with friends n family... just couldnt stop indulging in the make your own recipe. Food was filling and at the same time light. Most hotel food fills you up and keeps your feeling full for a long time.. but not here... that really shows the importance they must be giving to the quality of sourcing meat and vegetables.

Way to go Chap Chay!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajayharidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, General Manager at Chap Chay, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
greetings from Chap Chay!!
appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad you had an renewed enjoyable dining experience at Chap Chay (Asian Stir fry Restaurant). We are extremely grateful for your patronage and encouragement. Its heartening to learn that you feel comfortable with the Chap Chay concept as we have carefully selected options to suite all our patrons. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
RG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good eating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Some restaurants may serve good food, some may have a good ambience while others may have courteous staff , but "Chap Chay" according to me is a combination of all good things that make a Restaurant successful. This restaurant which serves Pan Asian food is very different from others. I've been there on many occasions and each time I had a chance to try out something different. The menu is designed in such a way that one would be tempted to try out a different combination every time. The staff at "Chap Chay" are a great lot helping the guest to select a combo of the food according to his/her choice. One could also Customise his or her food, which is an amazing thing. This review would not be complete if I don't mention the amazing Flowering Tea which they serve in a see through pot. Lastly I would like to mention, though i'm a VEGETARIAN I feel completely safe to eat at "Chap Chay" . Thank you "Chap Chay" for making my visit a memorable one every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Balamukunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, General Manager at Chap Chay, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Vanakkam from Chap Chay!!
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you had an enjoyable dining experience at Chap Chay (Asian Stir fry Restaurant). We are extremely grateful for your patronage and encouragement. Its heartening to learn that you feel comfortable with the Chap Chay concept as we have carefully selected options to suite our vegetarian patrons. We look forward to your next visit to The Raintree, St. Mary’s Road soon

Best Regards,

Ramesh DV
Restaurant Manager - Chap Chay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Chap Chay at Raintree in St. Mary's Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Awesome place, see also my review of the Raintree hotel itself. I spent two weeks staying at the Raintree and ate a couple of meals here. Very nice food, and I'm surprised how much I liked it even thought it is a basement restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amrith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, Manager at Chap Chay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Vanakkam from Chap Chay!!
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you had an enjoyable dining experience at Chap Chay (Asian Stir fry Restaurant)during your 2 week stay. we are extremely grateful for your patronage and encouragement. We look forward to your next visit to The Raintree, St. Mary’s Road soon

Best Regards,

Ramesh DV
Restaurant Manager - Chap Chay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Noodles and Superb Athmosfear”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had dinner in Chap Chay on my last day in Chennai. Despite you can do our own mix of noodles and ingredients, i felt a bit lazy and I chose a la carte. i was suggested to pick Chap Chay Noodles. it was a mix of vegetables and shrimps.

When the plate came I wanted to cry. Big quantity, great presentation. PERFECT. It smell delicious and tasted the same.

At the end I was given a tea pot with flower tea and a couple of bonbons. Th perfect end.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silktree_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, Manager at Chap Chay, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Diner,
Vanakkam !!
Thank you for spending your precious time to provide your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor about your dining experience at the "Chap Chay" . We are pleased to learn that you had a fantastic dining experience. We would love to see you back at the The Raintree, St. Mary’s Road soon....
Best Regards,
Ramesh DV
Restaurant Manager - Chap Chay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Healthy and Yummy !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

One of the best pan asian places in chennai.. am glad they opened this instead of the previous restaurant lemon grass.. first timers must try the stir fry set menu.. its a make it urself kind and is very tasty.. and is not very expensive as well.. they charge 799 plus tax for a person which includes sops salads starters main course and desserts. which is awesome !! Overall its a very calm healthy food kinda place and i highly recommend it for meat lovers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boomboomviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, General Manager at Chap Chay, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Diner,
Vanakkam !!
Thank you for spending your precious time to provide your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor about your dining experience at the "Chap Chay" . We are pleased to learn that you had a fantastic dining experience. We would love to see you back at the The Raintree, St. Mary’s Road soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chap Chay also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Chap Chay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing