We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madras Hotel Ashoka
Ranked #189 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had been to this hotel for two nights on an official work. The campus of hotel is very big. The hotel must be very nice once upon a time. However, due to lac of up-keeping, it looks dated now. Rooms are fairly neat and clean but the fixtures are not maintained properly. Doors and window frames to are unattended. This hotel does have a pure veg restaurant 'Abhinandan', which is good. Overall, an average hotel it is.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilipkalokhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Even though there are a few new hotels and service apartments in chennai, i still prefer the old Madras Ashoka hotel for the rooms are clean and food is brilliant. and it's in the center of the city. the prices though could have been a little lesser.
I would still go back to this hotel :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is good but old.The bathrooms are spacious ,but no modern amenities.two blocks are very old.one block is new.The main advantage is the hotel is situated in the heart of city.very near to railway stations.The restaurant is good ,but only vegetarian dishes are available.

Room Tip: new block is o.k
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psktvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A great choice , the rooms are large and clean , an old hotel but full of charm , the staff are very proffessional , well trained . Stayed for three days , really enjoyed our stay , we ate every meal at their restaurant , simply superb as stated in all the comments , fantastic stay , highly reccommended .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norah_a2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had been to the restaurant for lunch many times in the past 25 yrs. The amazing thing is there is no change from the staff to furniture and cutlery and the food tastes great as always.A variety is served for thali and food is sumptuous and the service will make you over eat. A real wonderful experience of old Chennai especially if you are with family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

They have two type of meals, South Indian and Andhra thaali.
The menu for both of them is similar except that the Andhara thaali has Pappulu podi,ghee and kongura chutney as additions.
I have had both the Tallis. The taste is authentic and awe some.
The ghee they supply has the taste od suddh ghee.
They supply puri/chapatis before the rice is served.
The rice is hot and very delicious when mixed with ghee and dhall/Pappulu podi/ kongura chutney.
The traditional south indian sambar and rasam they serve has a authentic taste.
After the meal you have a satisfaction of having had an excellent,tasty, authentic South Indian / Andhra food.
It's the money worth.
Try this once you will want to have it again.

Room Tip: I live in Chennai. I frequent this facility for lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank sankar01_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been to Chennai only twice. Once in 2009 and second in 2012, Both the times we have stayed in Egmore Ashoka Hotel. The Hotel is nicely located and nice parking lot, And it has a nice spacious compound. The hotel employees were very friendly and they have mostly very senior members for responsible posts. The restaurant was the main thing which attracted me. The morning buffet was awesome, with all items from bread toast to the classical idly and vada.The lunch was as usual fantastic.
Cleanliness of the hotel is commendable. The building is old, But they have maintained well to retain the class. I would say a mini Taj of Chennai. Sleep was good, Bed was nice.
We had a nice stay of 3 days in the first trip and 4 days in the second.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashishkumar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
#56 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
336 reviews
Nungambakkam
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ramada Chennai Egmore
#37 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
910 reviews
T. Nagar
The Residency
The Residency
#26 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mylapore
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#59 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
368 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#55 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
192 reviews
Mylapore
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#45 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madras Hotel Ashoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madras Hotel Ashoka

Address: 47 Pantheon Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $29 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 109

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing