We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in egmore”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madras Hotel Ashoka
Ranked #199 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed August 30, 2011

very old yet very good .good location to both the egmore and central station ....clean basic rooms helpful staff.,nice homely atmosphere and most of all best south indian food in the egmore area.
close proximity to the iconic shopping malls and mount road which has vti a must visit for hady crafts.The museum is on the same road ....overall good location ...very good food ...value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ved_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Madras Hotel Ashoka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Hotel is well located in the heart of the city and near to Egmore Railway station. Comuting form this place to other places in Chenaai is very convenient.

The dining hall is very decent , neat and clean. A spacious dining hall with proper lighting gives a good relief and enjoyable. The service is very good. Selection of items of one's choice is ample.

The servers are very courteous takes proud in explaining the menu for the day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajagopalChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hotel Ashoka doesnt have any great interiors or anything great about it. Its location is central and one can go to Mount Road for shopping. Thier south indian breakfast is really good but lunch is not so good. Services was really bad & the language also was an issue as their understanding of Hindi was really poor. Please do enjoy the awesome Pongal vada offered by thier restaurant

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogesh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I visited this Hotel to stay along with my Mother as we had gone to Chennai for her medical checkup. This is a no frills hotel but one of the finest. We took a cottage and believe me it reminded me of the old world charm. Huge room with a seating area and a huge bath with a dressing room. Neat and clean. The restaurant serves veg food but good food, hygienic. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shubail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I was suffering from a stomach bug, so was looking for more in the way of mid-range comforts than are offered in the budget places where I often stay. Unfortunately the room I was offered here was no improvement on most of the cheapo places on nearby Kennet Lane, despite being 3 times the price. The only "advantage" was A/C, but this was far too noisy to be of any use. In dire need of total refurbishment, my grim, bare, grubby room offered the worst value for money I encountered on my entire trip to India. Admittedly I didn't try the restaurant, which others have recommended, but even if you intend trying that, I feel that you'd be better off staying somewhere else. The Hotel Ashoka is appropriately named. It is indeed a shocker!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

If you are looking for a budget hotel, this is a choice worth consideration. The main charm of this hotel is its restaurant 'Abhinandan' which is amazing and you will get to see loads of cars parked just for the food. Rooms are fine with lot scope for improvement but as for a budget hotel, this is a good destination but remember, it is far from airport.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparshg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The hotel has a vegetarian restaurant and the rates are pretty reasonable for both the accomodation and the restaurant. A complimentary breakfast awaits every day which can be availed only by visiting the restaurant. Tip the waiters well at first, for good service during the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suhasking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.3 mi away
FabHotel Udipi Home Egmore
FabHotel Udipi Home Egmore
#112 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pandian
Hotel Pandian
#95 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
182 reviews
1.9 mi away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#57 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
#54 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#68 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#13 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madras Hotel Ashoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madras Hotel Ashoka

Address: 47 Pantheon Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $33 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 109

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing