We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super idly sambhar”

Triplicane Ratna Cafe
Ranked #513 of 7,123 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Neighborhood: Royapettah
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Royapettah
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Want to eat real idly sambhar this the place in Chennai, also crispy medu vada and rice Pongal with ghee try Kalani also those who love indian sweet,they serve very hot idly and sambhar throughout the day

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank AJAYKSHAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

Heard this was a must try place so sauntered over to Triplicane district. Ratna Cafe is much bigger than the frontage suggests.
For westerners, this type of cafe can be off putting but do give it a go. You will not be disappointed.
A staff member explained the menu and seating options and we chose to eat from the snack menu rather than the set meals and sat in the front area where we could watch the world go by.
We had an onion masala dosa and aloo pooni- massive, crisp and delicious. Both were cooked to order and tasted delicious. I wish I had been hungrier and tried more. The service was polite and prompt and hygiene very good. We saw the tables being washed down between customers. We’ll be returning for lunch soon.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank pickleinwimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2019

The idly arrived by itself.. I nibbled at a corner and found it soft and fresh, suddenly the waiter turned up and poured the sambar over the idly in an attempt to sink it. Next was the plain dosa, again crisp and with yummy chutneys and sambhar to go with it. We neded with the filter coffee , which was the right and strong, but a little on the sweeter. They also serve it with sugar separate.

Overall, the cafe lived up to it's legendary reputation as a simple place for great food. No pretentions here.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chetanmahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

Bought breakfast today and found that the chutney was already smelling bad and there was an insect in sambhar. Price has become very high for which the quality is not good. Also poor service and rude staff. They treat customers like dogs. The coconut chutney which they served was soilt and when i asked for tomato chutney which they served for dosa in the next table, the manager said they don't give tomato chutney for Idlies. They charge 25 rupees per plate of Idlies.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PravinP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018 via mobile

I'd heard so much about this legendary cafe, finally made a plan to grab some breakfast here.
Nestled in lanes of triplicane, this unassuming place goes about it's business efficiently - serving quality food from 6am.
I gorged on idli, dosa and pongal, amidst the simple basic set up.
No issues with the food whatsoever, though wondering if the murugan idli and Sangeetha's of the world have actually marched ahead.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 2015AjayAtreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triplicane Ratna Cafe also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Triplicane Ratna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing