We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel in Chennai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kohinoor Asiana Hotel
Ranked #62 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel in Chennai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is on IT expressway and about 25Kms.from Chennai city area and Mahabalipuram. It is about half an hour drive from Chennai Airport . All this makes it an ideal place for stay for business visitors as well as tourists. As regards the facilities, one can only say that it is a star hotel with spacious rooms, good ambience in Restaurants and a really hospitable staff. Many of the top executives of MNC companies who visit Chennai for visits to IT majors and industrial houses on OMR have stayed here and find it as comforting as the Taj hotels in the city. Though I have not actually stayed in this hotel but have frequently visited for confrences and office meetings . I have written this review for the benefit of visitors to Chennai.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganeshb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRaj, General Manager at Kohinoor Asiana Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Ganesh,

It gives me a great pleasure to thank you for the time taken to review us in Tripadvisor.

A special thanks to you for mentioning that you have not stayed with us and you are writing this review for the benefits of the guests who are traveling to Chennai.

All what you have given are facts we have 179 spacious rooms and suites which are very practical and designed for a perfect business trip, 27,000sq. ft of banqueting area, choice of restaurants like Grill, Thai, Multi cuisine, Lounge bar, International Spa, Pool, steam, fitness center and most of all as you have highlighted our strength is our team member who has the hospitality in them.

I once again thank you for a comment on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    79
    25
    13
    5
See reviews for
16
10
21
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Not a hyped up hotel but just a neat spacious colourful hotel and rooms that are the right fit for any business hotels for those doing business in and around the Chennai IT corridor of OMR. Rooms are really big, spacious, comfortable bed, pillows, excellent food, well laid out breakfast selections, excellent staff. Room service is also excellent in case you want to relax and enjoy your meal in the privacy of your room. Surprisingly it is less popular than the well known Hilton in Guindy or the Radisson or Trident or Le Meridien in airport road but I would say more comfortable, value for money and excellent hospitality in chennai.

Room Tip: Suits well for business travellers in the IT corridor of OMR though slighlty away from the city cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamsPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRaj, General Manager at Kohinoor Asiana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to Thank you for taking your time to review us in TripAdvisor.

It gives me a great pleasure to read your comments, The way you have started your comment "Lesser known Crowning Jewel in Chennai - Kohinoor Asiana" itself gives a lot of positive energy for us. we are taking every steps to make us popular through guests like you. We try to market our product and service through people. These kind of comments and feedback will definitely make us stand apart from all the hotels in Chennai.

I will be glad to share these appreciations with our staffs as well which will give them a motivation to achieve more.

Looking forward to welcome you again

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here on business and was very pleased with the spacious clean room and having the pool on the roof. We especially liked the Thai restaurant but buffet was good too. Staff very helpful, positive stay all round,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRaj, General Manager at Kohinoor Asiana Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to receive us in TripAdvisor.

It gives me a great pleasure to read your comments and i thank you for all your appreciations to our staffs who are helpful and positive.

I will pass your appreciations to them and look forward to meet you on your next arrival.

With Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have now stayed in Asiana for over 2 years during my business travels. I stay here around 2-3 times a year and this hotel has never failed to disappoint me. Rooms are big and spacious with very comfortable beds and pillows. Housekeeping staff keeps rooms well serviced and cleaned.
Asiana has choice of room service which is manned by a very friendly hostess. Restaurants serve a range of food and you have 2 restaurants and a lounge/bar to choose from. Breakfast is buffet but very lavish and plenty to choose from for all types of tastes. However few disappointments - wifi is not very stable and keeps dropping, hotel does not serve filter coffee at all- very strange for this part of country/word and a number of channels on TVs don't work - every time I get told that they will be fixed soon.
Spa offers great range of massage and treatments. Overall Asiana is still the best hotel to stay if you are visiting IT corridor of Chennai.

Room Tip: Have choice of smoking and non smoking rooms, if you want access to business lounge then stay on 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langleykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRaj, General Manager at Kohinoor Asiana Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It gives me a great pleasure in Thanking you for your time and effort taken to appreciate our services through TripAdvisor.

Its such a great honor for us to server you with out disappointing you for over 2 year consistently and it gives a great pleasure to get such an appreciation from you.

I will pass your appreciations to all the staffs who have made your stays with us remarkable.

I will also take a note on the WIFI as we are already fixing the issues and will ensure that it will be fixed before your next stay with us.

Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The room was always neat & clean & the breakfast buffet was excellent with a good variety for international travelers. I also went to the spa for a facial and it was well worth the money.

The staff also went out of their way to assist me with some gift wrapping I needed done. Not only did they come up with a box for my item, but they wrapped it as well. Outstanding service!

Room Tip: A room to the inside of the hotel will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigi-Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRaj, General Manager at Kohinoor Asiana Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for all your time taken to give us a good review on TripAdvisor.

I will pass all your appreciation to our staffs who have make your stay a great one. We strive and Train our staffs regularly to achieve maximum guest satisfaction and these appreciations will be a motivating factor to them.

Looking forward to welcome you on your next stay to give you another fabulous experience of Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struer, Denmark
Level Contributor
230 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having a very good time in this perfect hotel.
Rooms are very well appointed, nice bathroom with all the right facilities.
Breakfast ia amazing - large international choice of dishes.
Friendly bar staff, Thai restaurant is out of this world - will definatwly go back there before I leave.

Pool area is great after a day at the office.
Only complaint is that only females are performing massages at the spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRaj, General Manager at Kohinoor Asiana Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Jens,

Thank you very much for taking your time and appreciation our service and standards through this review in TripAdvisor.

I will definitely pass all your kind words of appreciation to my team regarding the rooms, Breakfast and Thai restaurant.

Looking forward to meet you on your next stay.

With Regards.

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The rooms are good and the food is okay (surprisingly good coffee), however, the service isn't very careful. Be warned that transportation is an issue - early book cars or ending up not getting any. Once their cars are gone the staff seemed to believe that transportation is the problem of the customer - always need to double check with the duty manager ....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AxelWinter952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRaj, General Manager at Kohinoor Asiana Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us.

I would like to thank you for your appreciations on our rooms and food specially the coffee. At the same time your concerns regarding the travel arrangement and we will train our staffs on the same to ensure no other guests will face some problem like this.

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
8.4 mi away
The Metroplace Hotels
The Metroplace Hotels
#45 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.9 mi away
TGI Inn Iberis
TGI Inn Iberis
#101 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Chennai Sipcot
Novotel Chennai Sipcot
#13 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gokulam Park Sabari - OMR
Gokulam Park Sabari - OMR
#30 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.2 mi away
The CentrePoint
The CentrePoint
#59 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.5 mi away
Formule1 Chennai OMR
Formule1 Chennai OMR
#42 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohinoor Asiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohinoor Asiana Hotel

Property: Kohinoor Asiana Hotel
Address: Old Mahabalipuram Road | Semmencherry, Chennai (Madras) 600119, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kohinoor Asiana Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kohinoor Asiana Hotel, ChennaiNestled majestically amongst 2.25 acres of exotic landscaping, whispering fountains and shimmering water bodies, the Kohinoor Asiana Hotel is a serene and luxuriant oasis of pure relaxation and pampering.Stringing together a spectacular selection of 179 rooms and suites, Kohinoor Asiana will take the stage as an iconic 5 star Corporate Hotel in Chennai. Step across the threshold of the hotel and be sure to be enthralled by the striking beauty of the opulent surroundings, which reflect Kohinoor Asiana’s signature blend of elegance, splendor and unmatched comfort.Personifying indulgent hospitality at its best, Kohinoor Asiana is an exclusive urban haven, where the service is warm and friendly, the facilities are world-class, the cuisine is superb, and the guestrooms are spacious and inviting.Kohinoor Asiana is strategically located at Semmencherry, Old Mahabalipuram Road (OMR), at the heart of the IT Corridor in Chennai. The convenience of the locale is harmoniously complemented by an exceptional style of personal attention, which is both impeccable and refined, making you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kohinoor Asiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing