We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kohinoor Asiana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$120
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$58
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$71
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$130
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$84
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Residency(Chennai (Madras))
$55
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$135
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
87
80
25
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
80
25
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripindian cuisineslounge barawesome hotelvalue for moneyroom serviceroom cleaningawesome foodrooms are niceswimming poolnice experiencespecial thanksomrambiencebufferrooftopveg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 210 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week in December and two weeks in January whilst on business.
Very close to the IT parks, and much quieter than staying in central Chennai.
The food is varied with three main restaurants, one oriental, one western and one buffet style (mainly Indian). I particularly liked the fish masala in the Wildfire restaurant.
There is also a good pool which is almost always deserted.
All in all an ideal business hotel away from the hustle of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royhgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for taking your precious time to appreciate us through TripAdvisor.com

Appreciations & Feed back like these will make our team very happy and strive to get many more appreciations like this and to make all our valuable guests like you to be more comfortable.

We would definitely pass your appreciation to our restaurant team and the chef will be happy that you have liked the Fish masala and there are many more dishes our chef is famous for like the Fish Masala and it would be a great pleasure for me to guide you through next time when you are here along with my chef.

I once again thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay and looking forward to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A good and simple place, Ideal for business purpose. Rooms are good with good quality service, food is good and staff is smiling. I was relaxed and felt relaxed as things were falling in the order. Limitation could be, its far from city you need a vehicle and availability of local convenience could be a challenge.

Room Tip: ask hotel guys to arrange for airport pickup, as the prepaid arrangements or taxi on call may eventually land up to the same rate.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsheeshJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for taking your valuable time to appreciate us through TripAdvisor.com

Appreciations & Feed back like these will make our team very happy and strive to get many more appreciations like this and to make all our valuable guests like you to be more comfortable.

Regarding the distance we are primarily located in the Heart of OMR which houses all the corporates and IT giants to cater your business needs with a closer proximity to the offices, Also we will be quicker from airport as we have a traffic free and hassle free roads.

We would definitely pass your appreciation to our team who has made your stay memorable. I would be delighted to welcome you back personally in your next stay to have more comfortable stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Arun Raj. D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Asiana is in an area South of Chennai,about an hour from the airport. Around it are an odd mix of the remnants of villages and high-rises belonging to tech companies. You would probably only stay here if you were visiting the latter. Which makes it all the odder that the hotel's own technology is so temperamental: the wifi goes on and off every five minutes and is amazingly slow when it does work. After battling it for a day, I called and was told to try the wired connection. It was much more reliable and ran at an almost-acceptable speed. Maybe there's a knack to getting the Cisco phone system to work but I usually ended up calling reception and asking them to connect me. The TV is fine so long as you start the three inter-linked devices in the right order: if not, you will resort to playing with the buttons on the back of the TV. Even when it does come on, the box will tell you that they haven't subscribed to lots of channels (e.g. BBC and CNN-IBN -- although you can get global CNN)

As bizarre, the food on offer doesn't reflect the richness and subtlety of South India at all: the evening buffet is full of deep-fried vegetables (think Anglo-Indian bhajis) and ghee-laden makhni daal. Even the room service menu doesn't have a dosa or idli in sight (except at breakfast). I have to admit that I didn't try the Thai restaurant although the menu looked good.

The pool is lovely -- certainly big enough for lap swimming and a great place to sit out in the evening. The health club looks good but when I went, three of the cardio machines were labelled as being out of order and another two that I tried weren't working properly. A colleague told me that his massage was, however, fantastic.

My room was big but strangely empty so, it echoed. The hotel as a whole is like this with a lot of hall noise. We were on the top (5th) floor but I imagine that lower floors would have transmitted a lot of bangs and taps from those wood laminate floors. The desk was good and the desk chair was comfortable.

The staff are very friendly, genuinely welcoming and always willing to try to help. However, they are often let down by the hotel's systems so sometimes things don't get done or happen erratically. For example, I asked for my 6.30 wake-up call to be changed to 6.45 but ended up getting one at 6.30 and another at 6.45. In the US, the hotel might count as having decent service but it's below normal Indian 5-star standards.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor and as far down the hallway as possible since noise from near the lifts will echo
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkCWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 6, 2013

Dear Mr. MarkCWales,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to post a comment on our hotel in TripAdvisor.

We always value our guest comments and work constructively towards achieving the maximum guest satisfaction, in that regards we have noted down all your feed back including the WIFI connectivity issue you had and we indeed have discussed on the same and have resolved the issue and moving forward we are also trying to improvise on the same shortly.

We will pass your appreciation to our staff whom you have appreciated for the good service and cleanliness.

I am more than happy to thank you & Welcome you in person when you come next time and assure you a comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good ambience. Food is average. Cost is too high when compared to the number of items available on the buffet.Ideally located for all IT companies on OMR. Service is good. Good in cleanliness.

Far from the city (35 kms).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DineshL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 6, 2013

Dear Mr. Dinesh,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post a comment on our hotel in TripAdvisor.

We always value our guest comments and work constructively towards achieving the maximum guest satisfaction, in that regards we really thank you for your feedback on our buffet. We will pass your appreciation to our staff whom you have appreciated for the good service and cleanliness.

We have 6 Veg starters, 2 Soups, 17 Salads, 8 Non veg main dish, 14 veg main dish, 17 desserts plus mock tails and the Indian breads served on the table, and we have priced reasonably, however we will discuss with our chefs also and always look forward to improve our standards.

Thanking you,

Arun Raj. D
EAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel
Great location for IT expressway
Staff in the restaurant are superb
Remember you and will go out of their way to get you whatever you want
Drivers were equally excellent
Good value for money too whether on your own or with a friend
Excellent all round could fault

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for taking your valuable time to appreciate us through TripAdvisor.com

Appreciations & Feed back like these will make our team very happy and strive to get many more appreciations like this and to make all our valuable guests like you to be more comfortable.

We would definitely pass your appreciation to our restaurant team and the drivers and the staffs who go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

I would like to thank you once again and waiting to see you soon in our hotel for another comfortable stay.

Thanking you

Arun Raj. D
EAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews