We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentically South”
Review of Dakshin

Dakshin
Ranked #4 of 6,688 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $70
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Dakshin is one my favourite places in the city simply because it serves the best of South Indian dishes. I eagerly wait for the different food festivals that they regularly organise as what they bring to the table is unique, something that no other place in the city has in its menu. The fabulous service adds to the entire experience.
I had once come to Dakshin for their Kebab fest with a friend and I had the best meal of my life.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vipasha1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuldeepDhawan, General Manager at Dakshin, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences of Dakshin restuarant on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Kuldeep Dhawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Dakshin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 484 of 584 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Food and the ambiance were excellent and enough has already been said about it in the previous reviews. However, I feel that the prices are were over the top, particularly for a place that is serving the local cuisine and not something exotic. They need to think about offering a better value-proposition to the customers. An Excellent experience otherwise!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prathapsundaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuldeepDhawan, General Manager at Dakshin, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Dakshin restaurant on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Kuldeep Dhawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great for South Indian food, great ambience, good service. The waiters explain about the food, answer questions. Some time the Chef passes around and chat with you.wonderful experience.
The price is high, but worth the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuldeepDhawan, General Manager at Dakshin, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Kuldeep Dhawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went with my client and team mates and we booked teh private section. Everyone ordered the south indian thali and it was too large for us to complete. The waiters explain about teh food, how they are made and are very cordial. Live music was an add on.

Thank AishwaryaOnAStroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I visited Dakshin with my family as it was rated as one of the best restaurant in Asia. The place is very authentic. The interiors are beautiful with Tanjore paintings hung on the walls. There is also live instrumental music being played for the guests making the experience unforgettable. The menu is very elaborate with a variety of items to choose from. The service and staff should definitely be appreciated and are worth mentioning. I went for the Veg Thali. The quality of the food was great. Everyone should visit Dakshin to enjoy the best South Indian food, made the traditional way. I would definitely recommend Dakshin to my friends and family members. Great taste, great value for money, great ambience and great service. Truly a brilliant experience!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shiranmayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuldeepDhawan, General Manager at Dakshin, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Kuldeep Dhawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakshin also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Dakshin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing