We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent South Indian food in great ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakshin

Dakshin
Ranked #5 of 6,589 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $69
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent South Indian food in great ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

An oft chosen place for business, as well as family dinners in Chennai. The ambience is typical south Indian with exquisite Tanjore paintings on the walls and live Carnatic music all days , except Monday. The contemporary costume of the attendants adds to the impact.

Diners will enjoy the sequentially served fresh fried items, banana cakes, daal wadas, cheese wadas and the variety of dosas and appams, with an assortment of chatneys and pickles. The non vegetarian items are all prepared in the spicy south Indian and ethnic Chettinaad style. So watch out if you have a particularly delicate tongue. It is better to tell the attendant in advance, who is ever ready to oblige. His commentary on the different items is quite educative.The sea food preparations , masala prawns and chicken chettinaad should not be missed.
For the sweet tooth, there are variety of Indian sweets, but the tender coconut payasam is to die for.
All in all, a great place to spend an evening with friends, family or business associates. Advance booking may be required on weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McKaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    145
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food great ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Food at five star means Dakshin lot of variety can sit and relax at the lounge courteous service incidentally one can pick up good Croissant at the hotel par excellence

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank suraghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were here for a family get-together and Dakshin was having a south indian cuisine special going on. The preparations were different from the usual fare and palatable. Their self-made ice-cream was OK.

Helpful?
Thank laksmi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food @ Dakshin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Went with set of Europe customers & the food is just amazing, beyond the expectation. Trust me i will suggest and visit as many times. This is just too good place to eat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Selvaraj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Wedding Anniversary Dinner @ Dakshin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

There is something about Dakshin that makes me want to go there again and again. From the time you enter to the time you leave, you are made to feel special.

My husband and I celebrated our second anniversary today and we are big time foodies. My husband had been to Dakshin couple of times and has always come back filled and very satisfied. I have been pestering him to take me there for a very long time. I was pleasantly surprised when he took me to " Dakshin "

I am a huge fan of Andhra and Kerala cuisine and this place is by far as authentic as you can get. The meats were succulent and the portions was more than adequate. We had the Mutton Curry & Prawns. My mouth is watering again as I write this review.

Chef Harish came to take feedback about the food. He patiently listened and gave us a small lesson in Kerala cuisine.

Great job guys. We will be back again you can count on it. Thanks a lot for making this a memorable day for us.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VarshaV85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakshin also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Dakshin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing