We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic south indian vegetarian homely food served with love”

Annalakshmi Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6,616 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
chennai
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“authentic south indian vegetarian homely food served with love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

what matters ultimately is the way the food is being served many a time. thats where annalakshmi counts and in what ways. only a mother can serve in a more loving way . nonetheless, the quality of the foods being served is awesome and authentic. the sambar , rasam, appalams and pappadams are very homely and divine. it not only fills the stomach but fills the soul with divinity !. aptly named after annalakshmi, the goddess of food, it not only reminds us of the value of the food we eat but also the hardships undergone by those who strive to produce this food. The food is divinely assimilated in our body and satisfies our soul only home-made food can give. a divine experience !.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kitcha6908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    151
    37
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Be prepared to be stuffed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent ambiance and Service. Variety of food offered is exceptional though it may be a little difficult to eat it all in one sitting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SimpleDesires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Food served with love and devotion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have visited Annalakshmi many a times with my family. "Annam" in Sanskrit means, Food. in our country, food is considered to be God. "Annam Parah brahma", is the saying. That's why, wasting food is considered to be a big crime. ANNALAKSHMI, is the Goddess of Food. True to its name, in Annalakshmi, vegetarian dining is a real cultural experience. You feel you are in your home, because with so much warmth and love, they serve food to us.Guests are called "Athithis, and we say "Athithi devo bhava", meaning, guests are supposed to be Gods.They truly follow this saying, make us feel so much wanted, and nobody can just stop with one visit. We cannot expect uniformed servers, but all volunteers, with a smiling face, now and then ask us what we want, and serve food.in the midst of the restaurant, there is a huge Goddess Annapurni, bestower of food to this universe!
They have "Swayamvara" buffet lunch, and slo "Swarna fine dining", where they serve different kinds of thaali meals. I must make a special mention of their beverages, where they serve an exotic blend of taste, nutrition and health, all merged into various kind of juices.They also serve vegetable juices, flavoured yogurts and milk shakes.
Several times, I have had their "Mahalakshmi Preethi Bhijan"......ofcourse, one stomach is not enough for this.This is a fusion of North and South.First, they serve the soup of the day, then the starters. Then parathas, poories, mint roti, small dosas with chutney and sambhar, 2 sidedishes, vegetable curries, koottu, raita which is so divine, south indian rice variety/pulao, all kinds of vathals, podis etc with papad, curd rice, then kheer with gulab jamun. On Sundays, there will be special starters like banana flower vadas or spinach vadas.
they also have "Kadhambari thaali", a business executive lunch kind. They have the "Rajyalakshmi aarogya aahar" for the health conscious.They have the a la carte also.
The ambience, serenity and the warmth will make everyone go there again and again.
Last but not the least, all their income goes towards charitable activities. Their main motto is to serve and love their guets!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank thiagamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Big Salute for their service and care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Best place to have a family get together or small celebration. Food tastes really delicious and Hats off to the care and service of Annalakshmi's staff/Volunteers. Sambar rice, rasam, Vatha kolumbu are something one must have in this place to enjoy the best flavour. This is the most preferred hotel for all my family members. Lunch and dinners slots for weekend need to be booked in advance. Real value for money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LakshmiKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic taste at a great quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Authentic taste at a great quality - thats what it takes me to Annalakshmi everytime. They have moved to a new building in Egmore. Check out their wesbite. They have Buffet as well. But pure vegetarian.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UniverseFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annalakshmi Restaurant also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Annalakshmi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing