We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food at Mainland China”
Review of Mainland China

Mainland China
Ranked #64 of 6,640 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nungambakkam
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food at Mainland China”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The restaurant is well done up and centrally located .Quality of food is no good.Despite requesting for specific preparations ,the chef messed up the fish and we did not enjoy the meal.
They also levy a 10%service charge which i am told is not allowed as per govt regulations.will be taking this up with the concerned authorities .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    142
    54
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Authentic Chines Food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Most of my friends referred to go here for their nice food choice! Today I tried with my family for a get together occasion. Food was very delicious and desert was too good..waiters they themselves suggested the best ones as well. Wonton Soup & coriander soup was excellant. Hakka noodles & spicy corn was liked by kids. Ambience is good; went for our own choice rather than buffet. Reasonably priced..Good try to have Chinese food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sivaramshunmugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Best place if you have decided to have good Chinese Food and dont visit this place if you are a South Indian Food lover, Coz you wont be able to get Spicy food over here.

Good ambiance and calm to have your food, also the food servers are good to us.

We went for a birthday treat, we were given a cake and also song was sung by one of the servers. Which was really awesome experience.

.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AvinashKetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best ever!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

BEST chinese food in INDIA. Word.
Service is absolutely mindblowing. If you tell 'em its your birthday or a special occasion, all the waiters will gather around your table, play the guitar and sing for you! Not to mention a free cake/dessert :)
Prices are decent for that quality, though I would recommend the buffet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CrazyLittleWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Mainland China is one of the best Chinese restaurant. I have been to couple of them in Chennai and Bangalore multiple times. All are excellent. They have some magic recipe which makes better than any other Chinese restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vasudeva_kothamasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainland China also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Mainland China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing