We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and courteous service.”
Review of Benjarong

Benjarong
Reserve a Table
eazydiner
Ranked #24 of 7,122 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Alwarpet
Reviewed January 16, 2019

Excellent Thai food and is always a restaurant to go to when you want this kind of food. The staff is very helpful and courteous.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GemunuR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 370 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2018 via mobile

Benjarong at Chennai offers authentic Thai Cuisine to all its guests. This spacious & posh fine dining restaurant is 18 years old & has many branches at Chennai & Bengaluru as well.

This restaurant is serving Thai Cuisine where the menu covers all the regions of Thailand starting from North to North-East, Central &South regions of Thailand.

Beginning with the famous & most loved Kaeng Keow Wahn with Steamed rice,Pla Nung Manow, Gai Hor Baitey, TomYum Goong,Som Tam Thai & so on - all the dishes are prepared following the traditional recipe to keep the taste & flavour unaltered.

The authentic flavours of ThaiFood has attracted many renowned public figures & celebrities here over the years. World-famous Musician A.R.Rehman, famous Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar & many other well-known personalities have visited this place for their scrumptious Thai Food preparations including Deputy Thai Minister from Thailand. Thai Consul General is a regular visitor to this place too!!!

We had a delicious & flavourful experience of Thailand at Benjarong, Chennai.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank tanwyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

I recently visited this restaurant with friend. It is one of the best thai restaurants in Chennai area. The ambience of the restaurant is very good and food quality is just amazing. We tried Manfarang pahd along with Kaend ped...The thai special icecream is a must try.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rea2der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Benjarong, one of my favorite restaurants (for Thai cuisine) in Chennai has introduced "Flavour of Vietnam" - Vietnamese Food Festival from 10/Aug/18 till 25/Aug/18. Chef Ramkumar has brought Chef Nguyen Thi Nho from Vietnam to make it special in all aspects; be it taste, flavor, texture, presentation..Excellent. Started off with Vietnamese Iced coffee with milk, Passion fruit juice and Fresh jamun juice with lemon. The fresh jamun juice and iced coffee were so good, that we had to order for second round before closing the dinner:). The soups Pho Ga (Chicken noodle soup) and Pho Bo (Beef noodle soup)...outstanding..straight out of some Vietnamese pot. The appetizers were something to remember - Charcoal grilled shrimp mousse on sugar cane (wow!), Vietnamese fresh shrimp spring rolls, Five spiced Vietnamese grilled fish, Deep fried chicken spring rolls with mix herb were awesome and reminded me of my stay in Ho Chi Minh. The main course was Vietnamese Chicken Curry with coconut gravy, Whole hamour steamed with soybean sauce, Vietnamese fried rice with lotus seeds baked in lotus leaf...were so good.. The desserts Mung bean cake and baked banana served with vanilla ice cream, Handmade jelly tofu with ginger sweet gruel...hmmm.... The highlight is some of the key ingredients, were sytraight from Vietnam, to make it even more authentic and special. Totally a super outing to explore authentic Vietnamese food.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SHarshaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Did you know???

You don't have to go to Vietnam to taste the most authentic and yummy Vietnamese food!
Benjarong, Chennai is having the Vietnamese food festival till 25th of August and chef Nguyen Thi Nho has come all the way from Ho chi Minh to serve Chennai the best choices of Vietnamese food!

My favourite Vietnamese food that I loved when I was in Ho chi Minh was the "Pho" and my testimony is totally based on the fact if the basic dish the "Pho" was made the way it is made in Vietnam, this is definitely a place to visit for the Vietnamese festival.

The menu is authentic Vietnamese and for people who still love to have their favourite thai food when they are at Benjarong chef Ram Kumar has been kind enough to have a limited menu for his customers.

A little about Vietnamese food. The food is basic but full of flavour, they use lots of green's in their food, the sauces and dips are unique. Chef Nguyen Thi Nho has got along with her quiet a few ingredients from Vietnam to make the food authentic.

So here I have helped you make your weekend plan and don't forget the weekend is followed by a mid weekend on 15th August.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Yogitauchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjarong also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Benjarong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing