We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Thai experience”
Review of Benjarong

Benjarong
Ranked #23 of 6,640 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai experience”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to benjarong...excellent authentic Thai food...had an awesome time with friends along with yummy Thai food and also very good service...a must visit place in chennai

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    148
    31
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“amazing authentic food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Landed at Benjarong by accident as was visiting and was hungry and noticed this not too attractive looking place ...but once there ...felt was real lucky ...some amazing authentic preparation ...( sorry to say it is hard to get authentic oriental preparation in India ) , not too expensive ..liked the cutlery ..very thoughtfully done oval shape plates ...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JesyHitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Benjarong, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
It is a pleasure to read your review of Benjarong on TripAdvisor. Our gratitude for your appreciation of our authentic food and cutlery. Please do visit us whenever you are in Chennai, Bangalore or Kolkata. Looking forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too expensive food and shoddy ambience”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

No, I do not recommend this place, unless you are a die hard non vegeterarian thai connoisseur. It is a strict no-no for the traditional chennai foodie, particularly with so many options available in city . Too Pricey for the occassional experimentor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indianmiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Benjarong, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We're sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Benjarong. It is our endeavour to provide the best of Thai food to both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. We would appreciate an opportunity to speak to you to understand your experience better. Please write to us with your contact number at ceo@orientalcuisines.in. We look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is what Chennai needed!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is by far the best sushi in Chennai. I would eat there every opportunity I had if I could! The fish is incredibly fresh, and cut artfully. There are the basic rolls that you can get anywhere in the world, but there are some odd pairings as well. But trust them all! I have never had anything bad here. You can get teppanyaki, sushi, all the usual Japanese favorites.

My favorite dish here is a traditional seaweed salad that has mini cukes in it. With the heat of Chennai outside it's refreshing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maebyfunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Benjarong, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for reviewing Teppan on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear of your experience at our restaurant and are grateful for your appreciation of our food. Your feedback is encouraging for our teams and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are a fan a Thai food, then Benjarong is a must for you. The ambiance is very good. The hospitality is excellent. Just ask for suggestions if you are new and the Chef will recommend multiple dishes. Try the Pad Thai.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vasudeva_kothamasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Benjarong, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear traveler,
We are grateful for your wonderful review of Benjarong. Thank you for your appreciation of our service and ambience. Pahd Thai is a favourite among our patrons and we are glad you enjoyed it as well. The teams looks forward to your continued patronage.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjarong also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Benjarong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing