We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive food and shoddy ambience”
Review of Benjarong

Benjarong
Ranked #24 of 6,689 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 25, 2013

No, I do not recommend this place, unless you are a die hard non vegeterarian thai connoisseur. It is a strict no-no for the traditional chennai foodie, particularly with so many options available in city . Too Pricey for the occassional experimentor.

Thank Indianmiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Benjarong, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We're sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Benjarong. It is our endeavour to provide the best of Thai food to both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. We would appreciate an opportunity to speak to you to understand your experience better. Please write to us with your contact number at ceo@orientalcuisines.in. We look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Benjarong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 203 of 341 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is by far the best sushi in Chennai. I would eat there every opportunity I had if I could! The fish is incredibly fresh, and cut artfully. There are the basic rolls that you can get anywhere in the world, but there are some odd pairings as well. But trust them all! I have never had anything bad here. You can get teppanyaki, sushi, all the usual Japanese favorites.

My favorite dish here is a traditional seaweed salad that has mini cukes in it. With the heat of Chennai outside it's refreshing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maebyfunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Benjarong, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for reviewing Teppan on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear of your experience at our restaurant and are grateful for your appreciation of our food. Your feedback is encouraging for our teams and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are a fan a Thai food, then Benjarong is a must for you. The ambiance is very good. The hospitality is excellent. Just ask for suggestions if you are new and the Chef will recommend multiple dishes. Try the Pad Thai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vasudeva_kothamasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Benjarong, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear traveler,
We are grateful for your wonderful review of Benjarong. Thank you for your appreciation of our service and ambience. Pahd Thai is a favourite among our patrons and we are glad you enjoyed it as well. The teams looks forward to your continued patronage.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Benjarong is easily the best Thai restaurant in Chennai. Prices tend to be a little over the top, but the food is delicious, ambiance great and service always perfect. A must-eat.

Thank CrazyLittleWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Benjarong, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your appreciation of the ambience, food and service at Benjarong. We are delighted that you recommend our restaurant. The teams looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Price is bit high , but you will be pampered with Service and good food , Choice of the food is also important as this is a speciality restaurant , we took thai Fish curry with Noodles it was just awesome.
The place needs to be pre-booked , or Early hours visit will give you immense ease and pleasure of dining

Overall its a Good Place with family and as well as with Business Partners

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karthikjoshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Benjarong, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Karthik,
Our gratitude for your review of Benjarong. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the fish and noodles; we will continue to offer the best of service for our guests. Our chefs and teams look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjarong also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Benjarong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing