We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Precious place in Chennai”
Review of Amethyst Cafe

Amethyst Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in a verdant garden and verandah of a beautifully restored old warehouse, the Wild Garden Cafe at Amethyst is an oasis in the heart of the city. Our menu offers a carefully curated selection of standard options as well as daily specials. Upstairs, the Amethyst boutique showcases some of India's leading designers across textiles, jewellery, accessories and accents for the home. Bloom, the flower shop, has an exotic and beautiful range of flowers and foliage. Amethyst offers an entire shopping and dining experience.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Precious place in Chennai”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Amethyst may have been named by the ancient greeks but it sure fits well in Chennai where its a must visit! I visited a couple of times when in town a few years ago and loved its olde world charm and elegance then - I wasn't disappointed when I returned this year.

The building and grounds have been renovated some but the peace and style remain. It's a wonderful place to escape the hub-bub with a freshly squeezed pomegranate juice and laid back shopping. The store presents some of South India's new and emerging fashion designers, modern fabrics and beautiful handicrafts.

To get the most from the experience it's best to leave your fast pace and bargain hunting desires behind before entering this oasis :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ggandse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    127
    44
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful surroundings, terrible service”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The restaurant and garden was lovely but the service was abominable for a simple tea and cake - so slow - and we had to keep asking constantly to the extent we almost cancelled and walked out after an hour. Didn't even get drinking water while we waited. Food was Ok but certainly not worth such a long wait and annoying service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the few open spaces in Chennai”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Having moved from Bangalore, I'd keep cribbing that Chennai didn't have nice open air cafes. This was until I found Amethyst! The place is charming and it is in the midst of pretty gardens. You have the choice of sitting at the portico, inside the restaurant or in the gardens. The menu isn't extensive, just enough so you have variety and don't spend too long mulling over what to eat. The food and beverages are quite tasty. They also have a fantastic boutique if you like shopping. But the ambiance is what scores for Amethyst and gets its loyalists to keep coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoulSearcher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

I have visiting this place every month for the last 3 years and every time the experience is better than the previous visit.Such exceptional food high quality service awesome ambience. Just lovely this restaurant actually I am getting peace here.

Helpful?
1 Thank srk800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always gets Better.. Simply the Best”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have been going to Amerthyst for last 8 years and my every visit was simply the best. i have been with my family and friends various times. out of all coffee shops i have visited in india so far, i can say this is one of the best..! Place is covered with full of trees and plants. you may sit based on your intrest. Its less no matter how much ever i write, please be there for great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank venkydeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amethyst Cafe also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Amethyst Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing