We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience!”
Review of Amethyst Cafe

Amethyst Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in a verdant garden and verandah of a beautifully restored old warehouse, the Wild Garden Cafe at Amethyst is an oasis in the heart of the city. Our menu offers a carefully curated selection of standard options as well as daily specials. Upstairs, the Amethyst boutique showcases some of India's leading designers across textiles, jewellery, accessories and accents for the home. Bloom, the flower shop, has an exotic and beautiful range of flowers and foliage. Amethyst offers an entire shopping and dining experience.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great ambience!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

For a Chennaiite who has been away from India for almost two decades, I could not believe that Chennai has a place like this, that too in the heart of the city. Good choices of food, nice green surroundings, the cakes are good as well. It is a must for every tourist, you can go as a family, a gang, or simply take a book and sip a cup of coffee and try the cakes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krishnan Iyer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    128
    43
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benasque, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I have spent many hours there”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

One of my favorite places in Chennai. A well owned place full of positive energy and tasty juices. Everytime I have stayed in Chennai I have dropped by spending some quality time there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hi_carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Garden Cafe”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had a very pleasant lunch at Amethyst. The ambience is cool and soothing. Reminds me of a Japanese Tea Garden. Refreshing lime juice. I tried one of the specials, grilled black pomfret on a bed of beans and baby potatoes. The portion was very generous and the fish was super fresh. The club sandwich we ordered was also very well prepared. Finished off with a slice of carrot cake which was moist and had a light almond marzipan topping. Good desserts on display. At 500 per head, it was worth it. Besides, you are paying for the ambience so go when you have time to spare. This is not the place for a hurried meal. Wud love to go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zmistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's got a rainforest feel to it”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Amethyst is a place I try and visit every time I am in Chennai. Excellent place for a informal business meeting or to catch up with friends. The lush foliage and greenery lends a tropical rainforest feel to the place. When I visited, there was an unexpected thunderstorm which made the place look even prettier.
Food is good and service is also prompt. Dont miss this place - its an oasis amidst the chaos of Chenai.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandyrajsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place for wi-fi!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The wi-fi in my hotel was not working, and I was unable to find wi-fi even at the nice coffee shops and mall. Was finally referred to Amethyst, where I went several days. In addition to reliable wi-fi, I enjoyed my meals (omelet, eggs benedict florentine), the fresh juice, and the cold coffee. The only thing I can't recommend was a very bland banana cake. All are a bit on the pricey side, but it is a lovely setting with good wi-fi.
Also, a very nice shop is attached, will return there on my way out of the country.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amethyst Cafe also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Amethyst Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing