We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not meant for eating alone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cascade

Cascade
Ranked #410 of 6,589 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nungambakkam
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
200 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Not meant for eating alone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This more than a decade old restaurant is best known for its serving quantities. Soup that is meant for 2-3 ppl at almost the cost of one at any other similar restaurant.
If you go alone, you will end up taking a 'pack' back home. Ideal for family or business visits. Service is quite quick, makes you feel practically they want you out asap.
Desserts alone take some time in serving, the offerings are simply mouth watering.
My favorite Mandarin fish served with Chicken garnishing

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Srbezawada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    43
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Their main serving is HUGE! Although, the main courses are on the blander side as with these restaurants influenced by Chinese food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prassanth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If ur looking for a good hearty meal, this place is it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Been going to this restaurant for almost 15 yrs. I love the food here. Quick service, generous potions, n good standard quality. All these yrs n the tastes gets better n better. Best place for family n friends get togethers. Try the chicken momo, waton, n dragon chicken.

Helpful?
Thank MUGIandJIJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
260 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Cascade on Khadar Nawaz Khan Road. Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

No trip to chennai is complete for me without lunch at Cascade. It's a little less crowded At lunchtime. The corn soup, hot and sour and crabmeat soup are all delicious. The fried prawns, chilly chicken, noodles and egg fried rice are worth trying. Food is freshly prepared, tasty, light and in large quantities. Prices are very reasonable. I like the simple, minimalist decor.
The vegetarian food is very good here too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jairaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my best chinese meal ever ........... in Chennai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have been living and working in Anna Nagar for a long time now and have read about the Cascade but never been in until recently . The are part of a chain and restaurants are also find in town .
I started with aprawn soup which was just fantastically fresh and tasty . Following on was some Korean beef (which was just yummy dabby do .....just blew me away ) I had also crispy noodles with a sauce (sorry I forget which and mixed veg ) also very tasty . Finally I was seduced by their ice cream and fruit deserts ( total blow out ) . I was alone for lunch and took half the main course home bill was about 1200 Rs , which I put on the company expenses (lucky me) .

But whow wooed by the food in Chennai again ..........wish my wife had gone on in India and I would be staying on as it is I will be off to Singapore so will review further from their altough I will be back here .

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimplySaucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascade also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Cascade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing