We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residency
Ranked #39 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka Division, Bangladesh
1 review
“Good location”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The front desk was very helpful, Room service is quite good. The room was comfortable and clean. The wise think to deliver the daily newspaper. But there is no toothbrush, no toothpaste. Breakfast was quite ok. Buffet dinner price is reasonable. I think is good for travelers. Easy communication to everywhere. There is a Big Shopping Mall POTHYs just beside and MANYAVAR just opposite of the hotel.
Though room tarrif is little bit high i think it is good for travelers. I shall visit this hotel again. It should increase some complimentary amenities while staying at hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurul_Islam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

I would like to thank you for taking out some of your valuable time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to know that your stay was comfortable. You have highlighted the absence of certain amenities in the room. I would like to inform you that the same are being provided in all the rooms.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you back to The Residency.

With best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    253
    76
    19
    9
See reviews for
142
59
43
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Utter waste for money, no proper room service, the hot kettle was dirty, no brush, no paste, no bath slippers, late room service.... ultimately a waste of money!!
Utter waste for money, no proper room service, the hot kettle was dirty, no brush, no paste, no bath slippers, late room service.... ultimately a waste of money!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank zaksabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings

At the outset I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had to go through during your recent visit to our hotel. I have made a note of the points that you have highlighted and I will ensure that remedial measures are implemented immediately. As you know that we are a hotel that has a good reputation in terms of customer service with reference to the reviews that you would have noticed on the Tripadvisor.

Since your name does not tally with our records, I would humbly request you to send a mail with details of your name registered with us, the room number and the duration of your stay to enable us to take corrective measures.

Thanking you in anticipation.

Yours sincerely

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
charlesfabian@theresidency.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. City was very hot but Air Condition was working very good everywhere in the hotel. Room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was limited for continental breakfast lovers but still a good choice who can not eat spicy meals in the morning. There are three wheelers autos!! in front of the hotel but you need to be careful and bargain because mostly their taxi meters have no meaning. There is a cafe house under the hotel where you can find western type of meals too and it was good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

I would like to thank you for taking out a few moments to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. It was pleasing to know that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel. We at The Residency truly value your feedback and sincerely hope that you would give us many more opportunities to serve you in the future.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you to The Residency.

With best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanjavur, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Seems to be a very popular hotel. They have a nice 24 hour check in policy which came in handy.

Only one of our booked rooms was ready at 6AM and the other took nearly an hour, with us gradually losing patience, in spite of ample forewarning. The rooms themselves are well equipped, small though, with even an LAN port and iPod Dock for alarm. The cleanliness was a notch lower though.

Room Service was quick and friendly. My rest of the stay was uneventful.

Breakfast @ Spice Jar is OK fare with some great dishes and others decidedly ordinary.

The service/rooms and the experience were in line with our expectations from a budget room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor were relatively newer with decent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KUMAR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

I would like to thank you for taking out a few moments to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was glad to know that your stay at The Residency was comfortable.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you back to The Residency.

With best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

stayed in this hotel for 2nights. Great hospitality as usual. Missed the Thursday music session as we were too occupied. Hotel GM Char(ming)les was kind enough to personally meet and greet us, The new symbolic welcome by placing the hand on the heart (H2H) was very nice. We saw this being practiced religiously by one and all which indicates the culture. Breakfast as usual was fantastic (i loved the raggi puttu). If you are in Chennai, you must stay here. Thanks once again to Charles and the staff of Residency for treating us so well. I forgot to write about the check-in and check-out....one of the fastest i have ever seen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sureshdeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Greetings.

I would like to thank you for taking out some time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our services. Your observations on our greeting the guest with HwH was delighting. It will motivate the staff to serve you better.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you back to The Residency.

With Best Wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean (obviously with a bit of wear and tear) and the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is quite modern and the food quality is of a high standard. It was easy to commute from the hotel as autos were always running outside the lobby. A pleasant stay. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmars93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

I would like to thank you for taking out some time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to know that your recent stay at The Residency was comfortable.

Looking forward to a long term relationship with you and personally welcoming you to The Residency.

With best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very clean, great breakfast, smart well trained staff. Located in deep interiors of Chennai, during peak hours it takes a while just to get on to mount road but great location if you want to shop in T nagar area.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrakashPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking out time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. I was glad to know that your stay at our property was comfortable.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you to The Residency.

With Best Wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#23 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
847 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
978 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
889 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,140 reviews
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
#6 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Property: The Residency
Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing