We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ambience and food quality !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Residency
Ranked #31 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience and food quality !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days and a night. It has a wonderful welcoming ambience. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff are polite and behave professionally. Well suited for business/ executive class... Nevertheless, its a great hotel with family too... Food is comparatively expensive, but was real tasty which is worth. Mini bar in the room turns out to be a surprise, with stuffs kept in it; but well those are charged if used, which is much beyond in price.. Suggestion is that, it could be informed to the customer about mini bar and its charges if used, else one will tend to assume it as compliment. Overall it was a good experience staying in this hotel, considering that its located in T Nagar, which is the most happening place for shopping.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel. Your suggestion with regard to the mini bar has been briefed to our staff.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Residency.

With best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    248
    70
    18
    7
See reviews for
131
56
43
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Checked in late at night and had an early morning flight
The manager who checked me in told me that while buffet breakfast would not be available, he would arrange for fresh breakfast for me at 5.30 am - that was a real delight - a fresh dosa with sambhar and yummy chutneys, alongwith freshly brewed coffee
The room was decent and spacious - neat & clean too
Would love to visit again....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

I would like to thank you for taking out time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. Was delighted to know that you enjoyed our services. A small gesture goes a long way in maintaining a long lasting relationship.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you to The Residency.

With best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
299 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Residency, Chennai is very well located in T Nagar famous for shopping and good restaurants. Next door is Pothys, a 13 floors of shopping extravaganza and about 10 minutes walk is Murugan's Idly shop.

The lobby is nice and rooms are clean. Staff is helpful and the complimentary buffet breakfast is good. A good place to stay whether you are visiting Chennai for work or holiday.

However, I would like the Management to see how they can improve the sound-proofing of rooms as while we were there, some very noisy guests in the corridor of 7th floor made our early night difficult.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshwar Dayal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

At the outset we would like to thank you for taking out time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are happy to note that your stay was comfortable. Encouraging feedback from our guests will motivate us to serve you better.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you again to The Residency.

With best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The lobby is so beautiful. It has the finest chandelier and lamps. The food is excellent. The food service is excellently served by courteous staff. The interior in the ball room is excellent. They have a great restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 67John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

We thank you for taking out some time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your compliments on the ambiance, our food and services . We look forward to personally welcoming you to The Residency.

With best regards

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Residency, Chennai is excellent.Value for money in every sense. Good clean and tidy rooms, soft beds, nice location, friendly courteous staffs, very good and tasty food and excellent service. On my next visit I will surely look forward to stay here again.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor road facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjaydutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope that all your future visits would be beneficial too.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you to The Residency.

With best regards

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The location, welcome, rooms, all are as good as before, as experienced during the earlier visit. However, the disappointment was in the restaurant which, I felt, was much better as experienced during my numerous visits earlier. This time, there was a deterioration in ambiance, cleanliness and service.

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Minus- Floor cleanliness in room was not good. It was manageable by wearing sleepers but it was a big negative.
Plus - Value for money otherwise. Food and Service is good with friendly staff. Nicely located specifically for people who are traveling to Chennai for US Visa interviews.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nitin_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

Sincere apologies to you for the inconvenience you had to go through on your recent stay at our hotel.The matter has been taken up with the concerned department and remedial measures are being implemented.

I do hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you and make your stay comfortable.

Thanking you

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savera Hotel
#38 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#22 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Property: The Residency
Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing