We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Clean and Comfortable Hotel in Chennai.”
Review of The Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residency
Ranked #38 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A Clean and Comfortable Hotel in Chennai.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Last time when we visited Chennai, had checked in to the Residency by chance, as suggested by my cousin who himself is a Hotelier. Our experience was so good that this time, when we reached Chennai from Bangalore, we did straight away rush for the Residency.
It is a comfortable Hotel. Neat and clean; though a bit crowded, always. (after all, the crowd shows it's wide spread acceptance among customers.) Though it is a 3 star, assures facilities of a 4 star or plus. The cleanliness and freshness is visible every where and such qualities are maintained, throughout. Breakfast is complementary and food items are varied and felt tasty.
The Room Tariff, though is reasonable, food seems to be slightly expensive.
Still, I would prefer this Hotel, next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souhardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings!

At the outset I would like to thank you for choosing The Residency as a venue to stay during your recent visit to chennai.. I also thank you for taking time to post your positive feedback on the trip advisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and rated our property as very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you to back to The Residency Chennai.

With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    251
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
139
58
43
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at a couple of other hotels and serviced apartments in Chennai but this hotel has been the best value for money. Clean, modern outfit and the staff is very polity and professional which makes you feel like staying at a top 5 star hotel. I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraD1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings!

At the outset I would like to thank you for choosing The Residency as the venue to stay during your recent visit to Chennai. We also thank you for taking time to post your feedback on the trip advisor and rated our hotel as excellent.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Residency Chennai

With best regards
D.Charles Fabian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Residency is a fantastic hotel. It is clean, centrally situated, great value for money,great food but most importantly the General Manager is on the ball. He interacts with all the guests and makes one feel very welcome. Any complaints are seen to immediately, e.g. the water did not drain out fast enough in the shower. The others workers take their cue from the GM as a result EVERYBODY's on the ball. There isn't a laid back attitude as at other 3 star hotels. No problem- our room was changed! It is not as if we were given preferential treatment - the GM does this with all the guests. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels - never seen the GM he takes it for granted that all is well. I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vassredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings!

Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback on the trip advisor. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay at our property and rated it as " Great Place".
Your feedback makes our services better and also motivates our staff and self.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Residency Chennai.
with best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I checked into The Residency for 2 days. The staff is courteous and the hotel is neat and tidy. The rooms are nice with good storage, something that i couldn't even find at hotels like Novotel. The spreads at lunch and breakfast are good, though one would have expected a chennai hotel to have Gun powder (Molagapudi) along with its crisp dosas. The hotel has a 24 hour coffee shop as well as a pub and a chinese hotel, all of which are nice.

The rooms are very well lit, Internet is wired and wireless and the facilities are a true 3-star. All in all, value for money.

Room Tip: Go for rooms upwards of 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anandiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings!

At the outset I would like to thank you for choosing The Residency as a venue to stay during your recent visit to Chennai. Also wish to thank you for taking time to post your feedback on the trip advisor and rated our property as very good.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Residency Chennai.

With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is well located close to T Nagar , shoppers well known
destination.
The hotel staffs, be it at reception or in restaurant , I found them all
very courteous. Services are prompt. Fresh and crisp linens changed
each day with nice room ambience gave me a good sleep.

What is unforgettable is the food. Wide spread of food enables you to
select what is more suited to you. I cannot forget the tasty Mutton Biryani,
and Achari Basha Fish , they were simply superb. Phulka which is not
everywhere available , was really well served.

I cherish the days of my stay and would find time to stay again.

Om Prakash

Room Tip: Road facing rooms may be preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Om Prakash

Greetings!

Thank you very much for finding time to leave your feedback on the tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and rated our hotel as very good. Also thank you for your comments on our staff courtesy level and cleanliness.
Your feedback makes our services better and motivates staff and self.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Residency Chennai.

with best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Residency Chennai is a three star hotel with four star facilities. It is great value for momney, the rooms are big, the toilet large, the beds comfortable and the service excellent. The complimentary breakfast is fairly extensive and tasty. I would highly recommend this hotel for business and family travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhtar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on the trip advisor. We at The Residency Chennai are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and rated our property as very good.
Moreover we also thank you for recommending our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Residency Chennai.

with best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hi last week I apparently went to the buffet restaurant. The interiors quite pleaseing on the first sight... Good to see all old staffs Mr. Madhu ( No doubt he gave a mind blowing service). ...

I personnally felt changes really required on the buffet menu apparently when i walked through the buffer there where 4 Aloo and 2 Brinjal in Vegetarian spread... Ice Cream counter seems to be very limited option and dessert presentation can be improved little bit... Taste of the Briyani had not changed for years thanks to chef who made wonderfull Briyani....

At sight counter seems to be of chefs moving all time... It looks like a mini play ground...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JabezAbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued guest

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on the trip advisor. I have made note of your observation and I ensure to take remedial measures immediately,
I do hope you will give us an another chance to look after you on your next visit.

with best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#25 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
834 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
970 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
866 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
318 reviews
Clarion Chennai
#48 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Property: The Residency
Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing