We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real stuff of chennai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Residency
Ranked #31 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The real stuff of chennai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

had an apportunity to stay in the metropolition too in chennai but this time made myself up for this place and trust me guys it was a gud choice, I happened to stay over my business trip and being valentines day did not get the normal suite and appened to stay at the suite. the suite was quite good with a masage chair and a massive hall. the service and the food both get a thumps up from me. In total a gud hotel.

Room Tip: There are tow residency hotels one , other one is a residency tower. Choose the road side view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinitsuvarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback on Trip advisor. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property and rated it as very good.
Your feedback makes our services better and motivates self and staff.
Looking forward to welcoming back to "The Residency".
with best regards
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    248
    70
    18
    7
See reviews for
131
56
43
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one of the comfortable hotels to stay in Chennai at a decent price. The rooms are as good as any of the Top hotels. You are assured of a comfortable stay and a sound sleep. The hotel is at a good location. The room service is very good and the food is tasty. The buffet breakfast is good and if you have to catch an early morning flight, they pack the breakfast for you as well. This hotel is well known so if you are new to Chennai and do not speak Tamil, the auto drivers will take you to the place even if you just tell them the hotel name and the location. Kudos for the good management .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gpa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Greetings! At the outset I would like to thank you for choosing The Residency as a venue to stay during your recent visit to Chennai.
we truly appreciate you taking time to post your feedback on the trip advisor. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and rated it as excellent. We also thank you for your compliments on the management and such positive feedback motivates all staff and self.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to "The Residency"
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Very good location , the bell boys are really good , the help a lot , outside u get the cofffee shop the best for light meals , near all the shooping places , and restaurantes , very live lively area , easy to get the local transport .
Nice buffet breakfast , i did not have any other meal there , as there was nice options near .Language is a bit problem in Chennai as i dont speka the local language , but i like hte city .
Appolo hospital very nice , really recomend if u go for a medical chekc up , dont forget to take u r passport to register as a foreiner so u get a separate department to handle travelers .
Overall , nice palce to go and stay

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ASamad1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Greetings! At the outset I would like to thank you for taking time to post your feedback on the Trip advisor. We are happy to understand that you enjoyed your stay at our property and rated it as very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to "The Residency"

with best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nice rooms good location. Fairly good service from the staff. We only had the buffet food in the main lounge restaurant which was pretty decent. Wide selection of vegetarian food.
This was my second visit to the same hotel - previous trip was about 7 years ago. Hotel has been kept generally well and the rooms, while slightly small, are very comfortable and well appointed. Some finishing seems to be coming apart (light fitting in the bathroom came apart and fell into the sink one day and the latch to the door kept getting stuck preventing an exit from the room - I hope this has been rectified as I informed the reception about this.) The couch in the attached room looked fairly worn in but nothing too concerning.
Main reception seemed quite busy and they forgot to arrange for something despite being told the day before but the hotel made up for it in the end. Location is pretty good as proximity to main shopping areas close by the 3-wheelers.
Overall a pretty good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arulkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Greetings!
I thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback on Trip advisor. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and rated it as very good. I am personally initiating corrective measures, to immediately address all your concerns. I do hope that you will give us an opportunity to look after you on your next visit.

with best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

For the past eleven years I have been placing groups of Australian health workers, sometimes upward of 35 people, in several hotels around India including the Residency in T.Nagar Chennai. There is no question that this hotel is superior. They provide an unrivalled service, flexibility to our needs and a friendliness beyond what you might expect from a big city hotel anywhere. The rooms are well maintained, nicely appointed and comfortable. Probably one of the greatest recommendations I can give the Residency Hotel is for its food, particularly the masala prawns in the Coffee Shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings! At the outset I would like to thank you for taking time to post your feedback on the Trip advisor.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and rated it as excellent.
Your feedback motivates our staff and self.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to "The Residency"

With best regards
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Residency Hotel at Chennai is a fine place with everything you expect from a luxury hotel. Our room was spotless with wooden floors, heavy but firm bed, fluffy linen, modern en suite bath. The staff is friendly and efficient. The room service is prompt. The hotel sported three restaurants - a Chinese joint, a multi-cuisine buffet restaurant and a 24-hour coffee shop. The food in each of them is first-rate. The menu was divergent, spread sumptuous and rates modest. A bar is an added attraction. However, the hotel's greatest asset is its efficient friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chackoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Greetings!
At the outset we would like to thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Your feedback motivates our staff and self to strive and maintain high level standards.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to "The Residency".
With regards
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Been visiting The Residency for some time now. It has every time offered something unique and refreshing be at the Spice Jar, The Chin Chin or the Black and White Retro Bar. The staff are friendly, amicable and more often available at your beck and call. Worth more than every dime spent.

A friendly warning order your drinks in your room on the Thursday evening- The music show Body, Mind and Soul packs up the bar.

Enjoy good music of old Bollywood films on Friday evenings - a show called Jaya Ho. It is refreshingly different and gives you an opportunity to relax, unwind and even make new friends.

Last but not the least......do not hesitate to kiss the chef!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings! At the outset I would like to thank you for taking time to post you feedback on the Trip advisor. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and rated it as excellent. Your feedback motivates our staff and self.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to "The Residency"

With best wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savera Hotel
#38 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#22 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Property: The Residency
Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing