We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to be back here”
Review of The Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Residency
Ranked #29 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

After staying in few other hotels in Chennai, i felt great when i went back to Residency last week. The hotel General Manager, Charles, had left a nice note for me in my room welcoming me back. He even joined for breakfast next morning which is a clear sign of "customer first" concept. I was surprised to see the changes in the room like a ipod docking station, wooden floors,few changes in the shower area and nice lamp shades. Breakfast was as usual lip smacking. Felt good to be back. Thanks guys. Keep up the good work. Suresh

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sureshdeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Suresh
Greetings!
At the outset I would like to thank you for returning back to The Residency after a long time and I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable. I also appreciate you taking time and posting your feedback on the Tripadvisor, the measures we had taken to enhance our facilities in the room.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 600 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

When arrived at this hotel, I had to literally get down out of the car almost outside the hotel as the drive-way is packed with cars..
Looks like there was an event /function going on at the hotel and reception area was quite noisy, when I arrived...

Check-in was prompt and the room is quite nice..
On a Value for money front, this is an excellent hotel.. Ordered few drinks and dinner from room service & quality of food is reasonable..
Breakfast was quite nice and service very warm and friendly..
Charges for airport drop is quite reasonable (about Rs.600.00+)..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naresh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Naresh
Greetings!
I am extremely happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay at "The Residency" Chennai and I truly appreciate you taking time and posting you valuable feedback on The Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your return.
Thanking you
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I spent 5 nights at this Hotel to catch up with my friends in Chennai. Value for money. The food was excellent, especially the Fish Tikka from room service. The staff all were so helpful. The bell boys are very informative and guides you well. Very good WiFi coverage which was very useful to communicate with family.

The morning breakfast was equally good. The area the Hotel was located, is close to many eateries and shopping. If you love South Indian music, do not miss the excellent performance by a talented play back singer on Thursday Night. Make sure you make a reservation at least 2 weeks earlier, it is very packed.

I really enjoyed my stay, I felt I was at Home. Congratulations to the Team. Cheers!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muthu6820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Muthu
Greetings!
At the outset I would like to thank you for choosing The Residency as a venue to stay during your recent visit to Chennai and I am happy to know that your stay was comfortable. I shall most definitely share you compliments to my team, especially the chef. I also thank you for taking time and posting your feedback on the tripadvisor.
We look forward to your return.
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was in this hotel again in July. Now I can see lot of changes in the overall approach towards managing guest(s) need. Room service was very very quick – Really was pleased to this change. Whole cycle - Right from Check in formalities to check out was very smooth. Great “ Chin Chin ” restaurant - I will say one of the best Chiness food I had ever had . Breakfast as usual was superb. In my opinion this hotel is moving from a good hotel to a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prashant1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Prashanth
Greetings!
I wish to thank you for your return to our hotel and I truly appreciate you taking time to post your valuable feedback on The tripadvisor. We have taken your earlier feedback in a positive manner and remedial measures have been taken.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very good customer service at front desk, laundry, and restaurants. You get a free breakfast buffet with the room - has a good variety of Indian and western dishes. Eggs and dosas made fresh upon order, and served to your table by one of the many well trained wait staff.

I was there for a wedding and needed help wearing my sari - reception sent up a female receptionist to help me out!

Also, if you are traveling within India from Chennai, the hotel is willing to hold your extra luggage for you (internal flights DO charge for excess baggage!). Just remember, the hotel does not assume responsibility for your belongings so don't leave anything too important, and lock your luggage if you are concerned. We left ours unlocked and it was just fine.

The hotel's Chinese restaurant - Chin Chin - is very good.

The only downfall is that the hotel's bar draws a somewhat rowdy bunch on Friday and Saturday nights. If you are a single woman or traveling with only women, I suggest you request an escort to your room.

Room Tip: Housekeeping needs a tip BEFORE they fully clean your room. This is nothing to get upset about - jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings,

We would like to thank you for having chosen The Residency for your stay in Chennai. It was truly encouraging to read your feedback on tripadvisor. It will help us to serve you better.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you again to The Residency.

Warm regards
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

bad experience. the rooms have damp smel and feels very lousy. the smells as if not opned for years.
the tv is 15 inches and so small that actually its iritaring to watch lying at bed.
the ac gives you the temp of its choice. no matter you change it temp of your choice.
the tv channels are taken from local cable poor picture quality.

i woukd never stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jk25x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest
I have made note of your feedback on our product and I am extremely sorry for the all the inconveniences caused during your stay. I assure that remedial measures will be taken on the points highlighted by you. I am sure that you will notice remarkable changes on your next visit.
We look forward to your return.
With best wishes.
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Its a nice, decent hotel located very much on the city, near to TNAGAR. The rooms are quite comfortable and equipped with required amenities to take care of your comforts. They have pretty good options for food, the buffet breakfast and dinner has a variety of spread. Chin Chin serves authentic spread of chinese. Loved the variety of Wadas and Chutneys which they serve during breakfast at the restraunt. Staff is very courties and helpfull in nature. Had been staying in this hotel for a good number of times during the past years. The service standard is very much maintained. Very much preferred to stay here.

Room Tip: I found most of the rooms very comfortable and free from any noise pollution, inspite of being locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neeru_travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

It was indeed a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay. I truly appreciate your efforts to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you to The Residency.

Warm Wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
T. Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
901 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,002 reviews
T. Nagar
The Accord Metropolitan
The Accord Metropolitan
#28 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#56 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
671 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,205 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > T. Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $48 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing