We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Shell Residency
Nearby Hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$209
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$104
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$151
$66
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$63
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$71
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$63
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
17
61
32
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
61
32
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvisa interviewbudget hotelcomfortable stayconsulatechennaikmcorridor
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 126 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a perfect stay for one or two nights if you are in Chennai for American Visa or visit to places near the consulate. This hotel hosts a very good breakfast and a very friendly staff. It is just about 4 KMS or so from Railway Station and nearly 8 to 10 KM from the Airport. The best way to reah here is using the Bus from central station or from the Airport using the TNSTC bus service. Reservations are easy the best way is to make is to get a good discount from any travel sites and then make sure you call them the next day or after 24 hours to make sure that your reservation is confirmed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srileshr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed in room 407 on the fourth floor.

Pros - Vicinity to the US Embassy, affordable, great food served in the room, complimentary breakfast, clean bathroom, well kept room, very helpful staff, good satellite TV channel pack.

Cons - AC was a little noisy, no hot water at 6 in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank vikramdesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Very clean hotel just a few steps from Anna Salai. Staff extremely helpfull. They do not disturb you unnecessary.
Spacious rooms with fan or AC, save door lock.
Massive door - you do not hear noises from the corridor.
Rooms with small balcony, very usefull for smokers :)

very good choice for women travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaskiaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Ok... on the plus side. I booked through hotels.com and got a good rate. I emailed the hotel to confirm the booking and they replied promptly and also gave me info on the pre-paid taxi at the airport.

Check in was smooth.

The staff is EXTREMELY helpful. One of them walked me across the street and waited for me to go through the process of buying a new SIM card. The staff really get a five star rating from me. They really did their best to help with all kinds of essential information.

My room was large. The bathroom had lots of hot water and good water pressure. The TV had a million channels. The AC worked almost too well.

The downside... unfortunately...this place is NOISY. I mean, not a bit noisy...but totally noisy. The bed was also extremely uncomfortable as were the pillows. There is a mosque right across the street so be prepared to wake up at 5:30am for call to prayer.

The restaurant underneath has excellent food and not a single person who speaks English. I had a nightmare of a time ordering even the simplest food. The food I ordered came quickly and it was cheap and tasted good, but.... ordering took SO much effort.

Overall... I hate to give the hotel a low rating but unless they take measures to soundproof it more... I just can't give it a higher rating. Also, the location is central, but there isn't too much to walk to in the immediate area. So plan on take a lot of autorickshaws or buses (the main street Anna Salai is just a few meters away)

Room Tip: Try to request a room far that does not face the street.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Room was clean and initial expectations were good, but far too noisy to sleep, being seperated form the busy main road by the flimsiest of doors leading out to a "balcony" with an old paint pot on it to catch the drips from the air conditioning unit. Food from the menu is seriously overpriced considering the quantity and standard, I could have fed a family of four for the price of a chicken shawarma (180rps) for a yoghurt pot sized bowl of chicken and a roti. On check in I was informed that breakfast was included, so ordered from the menu a masala dosa and a tea, on arrival they attempted to charge for the dosa, saying breakfast was only a sandwich , nothing off the hotel menu. After taking this up with the front desk, they basically lied saying that they had informed me of this at the time of check in, had I read previous posts I would have gleaned that this was the case, but the desk was quite rude and insisted that they had told me, and called me a liar. I will never stay at the hotel again. period.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road might be better, or just a different hotel altogether
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews