We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw dolphins from our room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VGP Golden Beach Resort
Ranked #219 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This resort is very quiet, with cottages spread across a large area. We had a sea facing cottage and enjoyed the sunrise each morning. On Jan 3rd when we were preparing to check out, we saw a large pod of about 50 to 60 dolphins from our room. We rushed to the beach and watched them for about 20 minutes as they moved South. They were only about 100 meters from the beach! We were told by the staff at the resort that this happens once in about 3 months and we were very lucky!

The resort is very spacious with large open areas and direct access to the beach. There are a number of mature trees, a kid size swimming pool (which they try to clean every day) and a large parking lot. The security is also very good especially at night. We were told that the rooms were renovated recently and we found them to be very clean and spacious. The restaurant has also improved a lot since we last visited a few years ago. We had many meals there and the cooks were able to prepare the items to our taste. The price is also reasonable. The dining area is very spacious.

The service is a bit laid back, but the people are genuinely nice and courteous. They do their best to be helpful.

Room Tip: If you prefer sea facing room, ask for it specifically.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanksee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGP G, Owner at VGP Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and writing in about your pleasant stay. We are thrilled that you had an amazing experience during your stay with us in the sea facing cottage. It seems that the dolphins made the perfect entry for you to catch a glimpse of them before your departure and we are glad for that cherry on top of the cake. We understand that you noticed the improvements from your previous visit and take that as a valuable compliment. Thank you for appreciating our staff and their service. We would be delighted to welcome you again for another excellent holiday. Wish you an amazing day ahead.

Best Wishes
VGP Golden Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for VGP Golden Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 96 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

To be true, ROOMS were big and clean,if you want to just stay inside the room its good, but couldnt have a resort feel or ambience,
we took a sea view room, and sea is so long that we couldnt see ,we paid 6000 and it was not worth for the money,
swimming pool worst ever, its was very small and dirty
NO TV service too it was horrible that they say no cable ,you can use DVDS but they donot provide DVDS
Buffet was good and only breakfast was provided,

Room Tip: 112 is a good one
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank buvan_nantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGP G, Owner at VGP Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and writing in your experience. We are glad that you appreciate the maintenance of our rooms and our buffet spread. We are truly apologetic that you did not find the sea-facing room satisfiable and were not impressed by it. We have taken your concerns regarding the TV amenities and swimming pool provisions into account and will work on them to ensure a better experience on your next visit. Wish you a great day ahead.

Best Wishes
VGP Golden Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

we have visited VGP golden beach resort for our first wedding anniversary celebrations.. let me give u unbiased first hand information regarding this resort.

ROOM quality was excellent but coming AC it was not functioning properly. apart from sea view resort view really stinks and most important is resort is under renovation and this point will not be revealed by staff until u take the room and restaurant is not available. food quality is normal. on the whole if u really want to enjoy only within room then this resort will do but if u are expecting perfect resort ambiance its a dream.

overall rating: poor:

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank tikku71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGP G, Owner at VGP Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort to celebrate such an important occassion. We are glad that you appreciate the quality of our rooms. With regard to the information of our renovation, we apologise for not keeping you up-to-date on the conditions and changes. We have brought this to the notice of the authorities in-charge and will be taking action on the same, to avoid such incidents in the future. We would be happy to welcome you again in the future to provide a better and more satisfying experience. Wish you a great day ahead.

Best Wishes
VGP Golden Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had a short visit to this Resort. Took the cottage rooms . The place needs to improve on maintenance grounds, but still the location is amazing.
The moment we raised the curtains we had a splendid view of the beach and it was enough to relax and soothe our nerves.
The place has movie shootings happening every now and then.
We went to the lounge on the beach side. Every thing was gr8 about it.
Had a nice short stay

Room Tip: Beachside is gr8
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGPResorts, Front Office Manager at VGP Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Stay with us once more and experience the change...!!!

Thanks & Regards,


Wilson Panneerselvam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Food quality is very poor and based on demand they will mix turmeric power into rice and called as Biryani.and never vistt the VGP Golden Beach Theme Park also.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Chennai999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGPResorts, Front Office Manager at VGP Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Stay with us once more and experience the change...!!!

Thanks & Regards,


Wilson Panneerselvam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at VGP golden beach resort because of the brand the VGP group once had. We were running on tight budget this time and this resort was among the economical ones on the ECR road. We booked a sea facing AC deluxe cottage. We found the reception and entrance quite good. But once you go inside, the resort looks like ruins. Utter lack of maintenance is a simple description that we can give for the same.

Everything is under repair, the room quality is bad, the geysers don't work, the AC does not work properly, and the beds/mattresses are old. To add to the woes, the room service and house keeping is hopeless. Every order takes a minimum of an hour and they expect to be tipped for every visit made to the room.

The only saving grace was that the beach is nearby and is relatively clean as compared to the beaches in other parts of the city. We found that 1-2 guys in the Jungle Park restaurant were quite helpful unlike the room service guys.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank redds_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGPResorts, Front Office Manager at VGP Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Stay with us once more and experience the change...!!!

Thanks & Regards,


Wilson Panneerselvam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

very good in service and very good location in chennai.very good customer services and room services. good place for entertainment nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lakmeChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGP G, Owner at VGP Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and writing in about your experience. We are truly glad that you found your experience satisfying. The resort has undergone quite a lot of changes since your visit and aims to make your next visit much more fulfilling. Please do make a trip to VGP Golden Beach and have a wonderful time again.

Best wishes
VGP Golden Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
0.3 mi away
MGM Eastwoods
MGM Eastwoods
#81 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
99 reviews
6.1 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
806 reviews
11.6 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
401 reviews
3.0 mi away
Green Meadows Resort
Green Meadows Resort
#127 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Park Club & Resorts
Beach Park Club & Resorts
#130 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VGP Golden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VGP Golden Beach Resort

Address: 5/159 East Coast Road | Injambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600115, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $53 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VGP Golden Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your VGP Golden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vgp Golden Beach Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing