We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and Terrible experience full of roaches and bugs”
Review of Hotel Ranjith

Hotel Ranjith
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ranjith
Ranked #217 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Ranjith Hotel is terribly over priced. The rooms have ancient moth eaten carpets with even more ancient air conditioners which hum all night long like heavy machinery. If the Air con does'nt keep you from sleeping, the free roaming cockroaches which continuously emerge from every possible crack in the room certainly will. And just in case that's not enough, there is the shockingly strong and inescapable odor from the carpets combined with loud renovation noises that welcome guests. This hotel would be a joy to entomologists researching cockroaches and bugs who could do this all night in the comfort of their noisy hotel room.

Room Tip: Errr - you dont really want to stay here! Find a better place
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KSatyanarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ranjith
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The rooms were unclean, the carpet looked like it had not been washed in years and the bathroom was stinking. The only saving grace about the hotel is its location. It close to the centre of the city. Otherwise, for the same price, one can get a much better hotel in Chennai. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DexterDCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The best part about this hotel is its proximity to happening places in chennai. With best restaurants at one side and ispahani centre at the other side, this hotel makes u accessible to all these places by walk. Eventhough rooms are not of superior quality the above mentioned factors would make your stay memorable

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CochinNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

I had come to opal inn with a friend off mine n really enjoyed the food at the resturant. The stakes here were to die for.On taking a look aroung i decided to checkin into the hotel as it was centrally located. On my stay at Ranjith i should say i enjoyed the food here as all 3 restaurants were fabulous.The rooms are not up to the mark and are old, but the services received were very good. No Discounts were given on request but at around 2000/- i feel its was quite a good deal considering the location ,good food and service.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arasu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Characterized by comfort, luxury and traditional hospitality. Tucked away in an advantageous location, this hotel offers quality services and host of guest friendly facilities . It is pretty close to the American and German Consulates.

Two restuarants Pallavi and the roof top one(Forgot the name) served good food.
People(Service) were(was) very nice in both these restuarants.The price for a double bed is high for the quality provided.Some of these modern amenities comprise of attached baths, running hot & cold water, television and telephone.

Ready with audio-visual aids and technical devices, the conference and banquet hall at Chennai Hotel Ranjith serves as a perfect place for the corporate travelers.

Very old rooms/hotel.There is no ambience so as to speak about.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Winoath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The hotel room was stinking and there were lot of tiny bugs on the wall. Had a terrible experience staying there. Staff not helpful. Personally I wont advice anyone to risk this place

Stayed: December 2009
3  Thank tripITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.2 mi away
AVNB Towers Hotel
AVNB Towers Hotel
#290 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
29 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deluxe Hotel
Deluxe Hotel
#188 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
NK Grand Park Hotel
NK Grand Park Hotel
#71 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#66 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
72 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#19 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,677 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranjith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranjith

Address: 15 Mahatma Gandhi Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $58 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing