We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay among hotels in Egmore area. Nice, affordable, simple”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Hotel Victoria
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #259 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Tuticorin, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay among hotels in Egmore area. Nice, affordable, simple”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

If you do not expect much, this is a nice place to stay. Hotel is just walking distance from Egmore railway station but be ready to be a centre of attention for many volunteer guides who will recommend you a "cheap" hotel.

Ambience inside the rooms is nice. There was a business centre where the keyboard of computer was not working. Breakfast buffet was good (south Indian menu)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saket012000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
6
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Nice Hotel. Located very near to Egmore station. The staff was very friendly and were very quick with their services. The Check In and Check out were done very quickly. Would Definitely stay here whenever i would vist Chennai again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sureshiyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Good location near to Egmore station.
Staff were very attentive on reception/room service/bar.
Rooms very comfortable and clean, best night sleep I've had in ages.
Would recommend this hotel without doubt.
We turned up at the hotel after a distasterous hotel booking near by and they were more than happy to assist us and show us the rooms.
Excellent service.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Canterburylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calicut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

New Victoria hotel is situated near Egmore Railway station. The Locality near hotel is not good. There was no good shops and market. Road from hotel to main road is not properly developed. There is no drainage system. When we reached there the road was filled with water. The room was not well decorated. Window curtains were very dirty. Staff was polite and cooperative. There is good veg. restaurant shravanam is in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somuCalicut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

faridabad
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2009

The hotel was small and friendly, very clean, the staff (especially Harun, Ramazan,Adem and Altan) were fantastic, really made our holiday...great guys. Food in the hotel was really nice and good value for money and drinks were comparable to other places. Ideally situated as it is close enough to the town and beach for easy walking, but far enough away to not hear the noise from the town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luckykalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

whenever we come to chennai for official work we stay in this hotel.a very good and clean hotel very near to the sea.the rooms are very good and food is also worth mentioning

  • Liked — coperativeness
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank subhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neyveli
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2009

I usually come to chennai on short trips often. I make sure i stay near a railway station as my preferred travel is by trains. Egmore has many hotels. Victoria Hotel is strategically located very near the railway station. I have stayed at this hotel two or three times. The hotel is quite good and decent. Room service is also fast and quite good. Last time i stayed there, renovation work was going on. There was no life working because of this and so it was a bit tedious climbing stairs everytime but the staff seemed apologetic about it. The response at the reception is not that great, as they are a bit indifferent, it seemed. Usually room service is what i look for in hotels, as we visitors will need much assistance, for newspapers, water bottles, etc. The prices of food items and water bottles in the hotel were a bit on the higher side, i felt. Though they claim it is a 2 star hotel, i somehow did not get a feel of 2 star. Rooms were ok in size. As i was a single person did not have much problems. Restaurant was also not so great and neither the food. They were ok. Maybe improvements have been made now. It was at least some 3 months back when i went there. They told me that renovation would be over soon. On the whole, the stay was ok.

  • Liked — Very near Egmore Railway station and Central Railway station Chennai
  • Disliked — Ambience and Restaurant
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NeyveliRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Pandian
#87 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
181 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#86 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
107 reviews
Nungambakkam
Sudha Inn
Sudha Inn
#296 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
Treebo Select Fortel
Treebo Select Fortel
#271 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
97 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#63 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
141 reviews
Hotel Park Plaza
#252 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 3 Kennet Lane, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing