We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jet Airways package”
Review of The Chariot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chariot
Ranked #259 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jet Airways package”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

To sum up my nightmarish business trip The chariot in Chennai was the best bet ! The area was stinking and when I checked into the hotel the room was unclean and there were some leakage in the toilet. I went and complained to the reception and they tried to put me in another room & alas it was worse-r than the previous. Finally had to stay out till late and came there just to sleep. The only positive thing was that I traveled back the very next day. One thing I appreciate is the staff there were friendly and trying their best to help but what can one do when they have nothing to offer?

Once again, I repeat what I said earlier about the 9W Package. An airline of the stature of Jet airways which holds majority of the domestic market share should be careful in choosing the partners they want to work with. Unfortunately the choice of selection which was offered to me was shameful and painful.

I am not trying to be a difficult customer but after spending Rs 93,500 for the whole package, I do expect a little better than what I got.

Regards,
Rajesh

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    16
    10
    17
See reviews for
14
2
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
coimbatore
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed couple of days on vacation. Located centrally, easy access to shopping centers. Staff very helpful and well informed. Rooms were comfortable, service was good on the whole. Overall the experience was good and satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devimfdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

First of all the receptionist kept on sneezing and without even cleaning his hands, he kept on touching my ID. Later whole hotel smells of cigarette, and the toilet in the reception is so pathetic that I cannot explain. The staff behaviour was though polite but the cannot resolve a single issue if you ever ask them for anything. Right now it's too late around 11 pm, so I can't check out but I would definitely have gone somewhere else if it was daytime. I would suggest everyone to go and stay even at a platform in order to get more satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vvikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hi guys,
Recently we had been to chennai for our visa interview and stayed at this hotel for 2 days.
I must say guys, the room service is just hopeless, pathetic. We ordered for a cup of tea, and they din't turn up for 45 mins. Finally we placed the order again. The food quality is very very poor. Moreover, most of the things that u order is not available in their in kitchen, and that which is available is of very low quality and tasteless. The plumbing in the lue is again in a bad condition, the tap broke and came out, shower was not good. The lights kept on fluctuating which means even the power supply was not proper. The main lobby of the hotel stinks. After paying almost 7000 for two days, don't u think atleast the basic amenities should be good?
Only thing good about the hotel is the LAN connection. Except this its good for nothing.
And we chose it from Makemytrip.com thinking it must be standard. Junk.
I will never go back to this hotel "The Chariot"
We found that in the same area ther's another hotel called 'Quality Inn Sabari', the food was just awesome. Ambience was also good. But i've no clue about the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chikkuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I reluctantly stayed here because I arrived very late from the airport with a pre-booking. The room seemed used minutes before and unsanitary. There are some very scattered staff at the reception, but they are kind and try to be helpful. Nevertheless - for the price, definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prism Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

the chariot is placed in very good location. the rooms are not that good . bed sheets are not clean, food is ok overall i did not enjoy staying in this hotel. the quality of the service is also very bad

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I was here for a few days. Its a 3 star hotel. The location is good as in its at the center of Chennai city.

The rooms are ok ok. The deluxe rooms are spacious and has the basic amneties. Bathrooms are also fine. But wont say its fantastic.

Food is not that good. And the complimentary breakfast is also strictly ok. Overall I would give a *** rating

Room Tip: Keep it as one of your options when you are in Chennai, but not the first option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjithNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#98 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
306 reviews
Grand Cascade
#309 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
18 reviews
Quality Inn Sabari
#64 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
FabHotel Blossoms T Nagar
#97 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
34 reviews
Treebo Mount Kailash Suites
#74 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
70 reviews
Regenta Central Deccan
#80 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chariot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chariot

Property: The Chariot
Address: 4, Thirumalai Road, T. Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chariot 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Chariot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chariot Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing