We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally Located”
Review of Southern Crest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Crest
Ranked #286 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This property is ideally located on Venkatnarayana Road, at T.Nagar, Chennai. Close to many shopping centers and women will appreciate the same. It is almost in city center and one can move to other areas with ease. Rooms were neat and clean except we felt of cigarette smell when we entered initially. On complaint they de-odoured the room with a perfume. The room rent was included with simple complimentary breakfast and was more than enough to start our business of the day.

People at the reception desk was very friendly and courteous. If at alI I have to complain, I have two things to say. One is Wifi net work which frequently goes out of working with every 2 or 3 hours. And one has to go and ask at the reception for user name and password each and every time. The second complaint is about the roomservice. The roomservice was very much in delay. Every time, we order coffee to the room, they took so long to serve the same and the coffee was not enough to relish. I wish they improve their services in this area soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srinivasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Southern Crest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is an excellent place at a reasonalbe price. Rooms are well made up and quite clean. Service is quietly efficient. Break-fast is a good choice of typical soth Indian dishes, with Idli/Dosa/Vada/Upma and also bread butter,
corn flakes etc.

Location is an individual's choice. But it is a central locationif we have to go either South or North of Chenaai.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Venkataramani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is located between T-Nagar and Pandy Bazzar, both walking distance, cross the road you will hit the nallis-chinasamy and walk behind the hotel you will come to pandy bazzar, if anyone who wants to go for shopping in chennai in T-Nagar and Pandy bazzar, i would strongly suggest this hotel due to its location.

I stayed at executive room, rooms are neat and good for the price you pay being in the prime area, but this hotel doesnt have a proper lobby, ( located at 2 floor ) the lifts are bit run down other than that its fine.

Service as usual, anywhere in India the hotel service is bit slower than hotels in Malaysia or Singapore, hence i may not be the right person to comment about the service.

Breakfast was decent, with bread and eggs served with the usual idili, thosai and indian breakfast.

For those who dont want to travel by public transport and just want to walk to shopping areas, i would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get the corner executive rooms, i think they are smaller than those in the middle.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at room 210 on the 13-14 june 2013. Room clean, good service, friendly reception staff. I am new to Chennai and could not find a Cyber Cafe (Internet centre) to go on line and chat with my daughter in Malaysia. Explained my problem to the rec. Staff and they were very very helpful indeed, allowing use of thier hotel computer. Thank you very much and i lok forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: ask for room that face the street.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A bit slow in service and according to th tariff,rooms need to be more clean,,its clean but little more effort need by th staff to make it more better,,located at good place like T.Nagar in chennai,,th exterior of hotel not tat apealing,,u might not c th hotel as it is hiddden by othr factors

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank Abhilash99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Recently renovated clean rooms, sumptuous breakfast spread including 4-5 south indian items fresh fruits fresh fruit juices eggs/french toast and corn flakes/chocos
Excellent value for money and located in the central shopping district

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MihirGadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed as a family for 3 days and we could not ask for anything more. If u plan to shop around the best places in chennai (specifically pondy bazaar and Usman road) then this is the right place. Clean and neat rooms. Room service and house keeping boys are very helpful and polite. The only problem we had with this hotel is we din get hot water when we wanted and our plans got a bit delayed. But they have a very good restaurant which serves tasty food. And the breakfast they provided was awesome. Variety and variety is what i could say. Overall an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gayathri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
Urvashi Residency
Urvashi Residency
#162 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1 reviews
BKR Grand Hotel
#293 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
125 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#38 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Raj Palace
#131 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
86 reviews
Nachiappa Park Hotel
#289 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
69 reviews
Nungambakkam
Mala Inn
Mala Inn
#285 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Crest

Address: #2 Old | T. Nagar, Chennai- 17, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $37 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Southern Crest located in the area called T. Nagar ( Entire Shopping World) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing