We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Crest the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Southern Crest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Crest
Ranked #275 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Southern Crest the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

I and my family stayed more than a week in this hotel which we found enjoyable. The spice restaurant lived up to its name serving various delicious indian, and singapore delicacies. I particularly liked the fried chicken rice which is a singapore dish found in the hotel's restaurant menu. The waiters are prompt and fast in serving the food in the hotel restaurant.

In the rooms we had clean towels. The staff was slow in cleaning the loo but the laundry service was fast and efficient. All the staff had ready smiles on their faces.

The free morning breakfas buffet was best and won us over. The food was delicious, especially the tasty and aromatic coffee. Briyani for lunch was great too. Everybody was fast in serving in the hotel's restaurant.

We could sleep well in our room. We had to made do with the family room which accomodated the five of us. Only once we had to squeeze in a room where there were only three single beds and then we had two extra beds put in.

The hotel is located well in the city of chennai and near T. Nagar. We liked the food, service and location of the hotel. Last thing, only the air-con was a bit too cold for us to take. Overall, it was the best experience for a holiday trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anu_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    36
    18
    8
    16
See reviews for
31
7
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

This hotel returned value of money in city of Chennai. I reached late night and was wondering for quality of sleep in hotel, but really my experience was excellent. I just entered sleep, the moment, I lied on mattress.

Other things were also relatively good in this budget hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anilkumawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

I have stayed many nights in this hotel,coz its not expensive.If you want to stay for long and dont want to waste companies money than this should be your choice.Nothing is really special but every thing is more than you can expect for if you consider peice as well.Free internet is the really good thing about this hotel.Location is good,breakfast is good.Lobby is small,but staff is good ,rooms are not very good but clean and big.bathroom is also clean .FIxtures are not really good but not shabby either.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imprmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

The best part of this hotel is its centralized location, other than that everything else is pathetic.
The service is quite pathetic - though we book in advance room is not prepared untill we go and wait in the reception for 30 mis, no bellboy to handle luggage.
Only one room service staff for the entire hotel. hence the guest need to be prepared for delays from drinking water to the food one orders.
Staff in the restaurant will behave as if they are involved in a great social service by serving food to us.
The most dis-appionting factor is the business manager does not want to hear any form of complaint or suggestions.

Guest also need to have a Doctor in handy to control the Health problems arising after having the food.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SathishT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Good food, and hospitality, clean rooms. Overall Liked the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sacsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Southern Crest hotel is on the main road, very near to Panagal park, T Nagar Chennai. Good hotel to stay in, T Nagar now became very crowded and if you have any work in and around T Nagar, It is always better to stay with in T Nagar, You cant predict traffic conjustions in T Nagar. Southern Crest hotel is very near to any place in T Nagar, It will be only 5 mins walk to anywhere in T Nagar. Parking facility is not very good at this hotel. Small lobby, that too I think is there in the first floor. Good staff, good house keeping. Everything in this hotel is almost new.Though the room service is little late, quality and taste of food is good

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoteladvice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

I have booked this hotel for my friends stay during my marriage... very friendly staff, rooms where very clean, spacious, has all the three star facilities at a very good proce.

This hotel is in the heart of the shopping place... if you are planning to do a lot of shopping then this is the hotel you need to pick up..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShyamKesavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#36 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
Suriya International Hotel
Suriya International Hotel
#202 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
The Iris Hotel
#50 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
FabHotel Queensway T Nagar
#93 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Quality Inn Sabari
#58 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
BKR Grand Hotel
#270 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Crest

Property: Southern Crest
Address: #2 Old | T. Nagar, Chennai- 17, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Southern Crest located in the area called T. Nagar ( Entire Shopping World) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing