We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Park - Heaven in Chennai”
Review of GreenPark Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GreenPark Chennai
Ranked #20 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Green Park - Heaven in Chennai”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We used to conduct our regular Biz meet at Green Park and till now we didn't find any alternative to Green Park. The ambiance inside the Hotel is simply superb. There are so many picks in the Hotel like Sesh Mahal, Vahini, Vijaya Hall, Board Rooms etc... One has to visit Green Park for sure for its clientele service and various in house amenities.

Room Tip: Suite and Junior Suite room add values.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latchu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenparkchennai, General Manager at GreenPark Chennai, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Park Chennai.

Warm regards

Sudip Sengupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    346
    75
    19
    15
See reviews for
186
87
64
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We paid a visit to India in mid October - myself, my wife, our two young children and my parents. Since our relatives didn't have enough space for all of us, we elected to stay at the Green Park. We stayed at the hotel for nearly two weeks and were treated wonderfully. The hotel itself is quite nice, maybe not palatial but quite good. Our big accolade, though, has to be for the staff - we got to know them quite well, and they were always accommodating, even with sudden / unusual requests, especially when it came to what we needed for the kids. Never without a smile, everyone always said hello, and it's worth saying that my kids got candies and balloons every single day from the front desk (is that a good thing?)!! The buffet was fine, and the formal dining restaurant was very good (though we did get into a friendly debate about what makes an "authentic" mango lassi). Rooms were comfortable and well-appointed.

The nightly entertainment in the front lobby (kids' magician, body painter and musical duo) were loads of fun, even if it was the same act every night. Gotta love that version of "Hotel California".

One special treat that must go mentioned: when they found out it was my younger daughter's 2nd birthday, a group of 5 staff came up to our room with a surprise birthday cake, flowers and balloons! I don't know if this is standard practice but we were so touched! It really made my day.

I can't say enough good things about the staff at Green Park Chennai. They really made our trip something special, and were sad to say goodbye to them. We'll definitely be back, hopefully our kids will remember all their friends when they see them next.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balajigopalan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenparkchennai, General Manager at GreenPark Chennai, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Park Chennai.

Warm regards

Sudip Sengupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for a few days every year since the last 5 years. This time the nightmare started on my arrival at midnight with a team of foreign delegates. We had pre-booked our rooms a month ago with a reminder given 10 days before our check-in. We were made to wait for 1 hr 45 min with the excuse that the rooms are 'being made ready' for us, (we were initialy told that there were no rooms). All this by a brusque and rude front office gentleman by the name of 'Ahmed'. In hindsight we had a similar episode the last time I stayed here, but atleast the staff were courteous then.
The food (to room service) is served late and cold and the cold drinks, warm. The quality and taste leave a lot to be desired. The breakfast spread is quite insipid and the live counters are quite a disappointment. The dinner buffet was equally shallow and the main course dishes desserts were not replenished, even at 9.30 pm.
Some construction / renovation activity ensured a constant banging at around 9 pm. The rooms were clean but the bathrooms were in a state of neglect with mold in the crevices and the fittings were jaded and rusted in places.
I would expect this from a 2 star hotel and not take the effort to comment on Tripadvisor, but a hotel which loudly proclaims 'Stellar Performance' and 'Rated No. 1 by Trip Advisor' needs to be given a perspective on ground realities.
All in all, a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChandniVikram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's a beautiful Hotel within the City. Bears a Star Hotel dignity.
Beautiful ambiance, Lobby, reception, restaurants, efficient and welcoming staff all gives a comfort like home. Very good food nice breakfast.
Nice furniture, good bathroom, adequate supplies all worth the price you pay. Cleanliness and house keeping is another point worth mentioning.
On the whole, if you visit Chennai for the second time you would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: No specific choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suprovat_Chatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Quite a nice place, the property is good and location is excellent. You have a shopping mall adjecent to the property which is a ++

Nice place for a business stay as well as leisure. The rooms are decent and food quality is also ok.

Place to stay again during the next trip for sure

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My parents & I stayed here for one night to attend a wedding.

First off, there was a little bit of a wait to prepare the room, but they allowed us to check in extremely early (6 am) as our train had come in at 5:30 am. We got to have the complimentary breakfast that morning itself.

Pros:
- close to train station
- wonderful clean room, clean sheets, spacious, clean bathroom etc.
- laundry service was excellent and professional
- wonderful breakfast with many options
- people working there were extremely accommodating and friendly
- internet was wonderful and worked!
- the Forum Mall was right across, although we did not visit it, I am sure its location is convenient for many people
- ambiance of the hotel was excellent and professional
- my father got his haircut at the salon and said it was good for a reasonable price

Cons:
- not much to complain about, other than I was wondering whether we were placed on the smoking floor (3rd floor), as it had a faint cigarette smell
- my father did not like that the hair cutting salon and the massage parlor was beside each other, he was talking while getting his haircut and was told to quiet down because of the massage parlor next door (you cannot expect everyone to stay silent while getting a haircut can you?)

Certainly worth it for the money we paid. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranga777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I find this hotel with very good aminities and compliments. The quality of breakfast also very nice. The room is clean and AC is working well. The Wifi is offered free of cost and used it best. The lights is adequate in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satish_keskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,142 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
875 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#16 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
989 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GreenPark Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenPark Chennai

Property: GreenPark Chennai
Address: Arcot Road | Vadapalani, Chennai (Madras) 600026, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#36 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — GreenPark Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a quick jog before a hearty breakfast to a relaxing foot massage before your journey back home, at GreenPark Chennai, every facility has been thought through to make your stay memorable. Just 12 km from the airport and 15 minutes from the city’s commercial hub, GreenPark Chennai is a hotel few businessmen skip in their itinerary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your GreenPark Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park - Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing