We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of GreenPark Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GreenPark Chennai
Ranked #20 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
North Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

There are other hotels in Chennai with more pretence of grandeur and luxury, but none that I have come across with the same friendly courtesy that makes me feel so much at home. The staff are just great, and the rooms and facilities are comfortable and spacious without being unduly fussy or ostentatious. The beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are clean - and the showers are first rate. The room service is pretty much flawless, the food is delicious - what more could you want?

A good hotel bar, I hear you say. Here there is a choice of good bars; my personal favourite is the Escape bar, reputed to be the best place for a really good game of pool anywhere in town.

Green Park is my first choice always in Chennai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratamacue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenparkchennai, General Manager at GreenPark Chennai, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Park Chennai.

Warm regards

Sudip Sengupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    347
    75
    19
    16
See reviews for
186
88
64
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I travelled to Chennai with my wife and son for a wedding in June. We were looking for a hotel close to the wedding venue and settled on Green Park based on trip advisor reviews.
The hotel exceeded our expectations in every aspect. The only downside is accessibility - it is situated on a busy road and is easily accessible from one side. If you are on the other side of the road, however, you have two options - go quite a way and take a U turn or take some narrow roads to get to the correct side of the road.
We had lunch at the restaurant with some friends. The food is delicious and the price is great. The liquor prices are probably the best I have seen anywhere. I was drinking single malt all afternoon at 300/- a large!!!
The rooms are spacious and clean. Room service is quick and efficient. Breakfast in the business lounge provides a vast spread of both Indian and Continental fare. The pool is adequately sized and has super clean water - no smell of chlorine. All in all, an excellent hotel. We are definitely coming back again.
What they need to improve is the quality of their check in and check out process. Check in consisted of checking the ID of myself and my wife (This is the first time I have been asked for the ID of my wife - I was wondering what they would have done if I was travelling with someone other than my wife :) ). Another strange thing : The person at the counter took our IDs, photocopied them and then took an inordinately long time to return them. He left them in the scanner and my wife specifically asked for them, but he still seemed hesitant to give them back.
Also, they took pictures of both me and my wife. So now they have my credit card, a copy of my drivers licence and my photograph. I am not at all comfortable with this. :(
Check out was strange too. There are three or four counters at the front desk and there were at least six people behind the counter, but they made me wait for 10 mins before checking me out. Apparently, only one of the people at the front desk knew how to operate the card machine. Even the person who helped me held a lengthy conversation with one of his colleagues about a room service bill that had not been paid - this was in the middle of helping me and I just stood around waiting for an additional 5 or 6 minutes.
I am giving this hotel 5 stars in spite of this because my overall stay in the hotel was excellent. The check out process was not bad - it just took around 20 minutes and I found it strange. that a hotel that does everything else right has so much of a problem with such a simple thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenparkchennai, General Manager at GreenPark Chennai, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback. I have noted your observations on the checking in and out process, and am truly sorry about the inconvenience. The team takes feedback very seriously and corrective measures have been put in place.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Park Chennai.

Warm regards

Sudip Sengupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked this hotel for our week long stay.Nice pleasant stay. The food and service was very good specially Breakfast. All staff were good and supportive. It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worth.Love to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashwinijha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenparkchennai, General Manager at GreenPark Chennai, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Park Chennai.

Warm regards

Sudip Sengupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went to India for our winter vacations from London, UK in Dec 2011. We went to Chennai for a friends get-together and there only we were recommended Green Park Vadapalani. Having never heard of this hotel before we were very skeptical about the services/standard but "WHAT A RETREAT" it was.

Junior Suite was approx £100
Great location (3kms from the shopping area and 12 kms from the airport).
Friendly staffs.
Nicely decorated interiors.
"Escape" is highly recommended for the fine dine.
Cocktails are great in the "Mustang Bar", however I would like to see more varieties.
All in all a great place to stay, relax and enjoy great food.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenparkchennai, General Manager at GreenPark Chennai, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Park Chennai.

Warm regards

Sudip Sengupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I attended a Inaugural party of a senior functionary. The food and service was very good. The taste of the food was also great. I enjoyed the veg soup and fruit kheer. Fruit kheer was first time for me in India. The taste was great and it was not so sweat as well. The cocktail snacks were also good.

Room Tip: Keep up the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyShankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenparkchennai, General Manager at GreenPark Chennai, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Park Chennai.

Warm regards

Sudip Sengupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hi, it was our 3rd anniversary when we visited for our dinner at Hotel Greenpark Chennai. I was surprised the way i was attended by the staff especially Sushant & Chandru and also got some take away gift for me & my wife ( Gents & Ladies Purse). It was appreciated. It was really a royal treatment for us. Also not forgetting the food which had a plenty of item spread at buffet with delicious desserts. My wife had recommended this anniversary as the best in last three years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niranjankumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenparkchennai, General Manager at GreenPark Chennai, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Park Chennai.

Warm regards

Sudip Sengupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed there from 28th May 2013 to 30th May 2013. Stay was comfortable. We stayed at one of the Junior Suites. The wash rooms have a mild smell of drain pipes,which makes the use of the washrooms slightly irritating. We got the Housekeeping people to clean the washrooms and also spray some room-fresheners, yet there was not much improvement. We are vegetarians and we also don't take food with Onion/Garlic/Mushroom; because of this our food choice was limited and they did help us with this on the day of checking-in and the next day. However on the day of check-out, we were terribly disappointed with the service provided at the business lounge where we were asked to go for our breakfast. The service there was very poor. I personally feel the hotel rooms could do with a bit of face-lifting.

Room Tip: Please do not choose Junior Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srikanthrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenparkchennai, General Manager at GreenPark Chennai, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

On behalf of he team at Green Park, I wish to apologize for the inconveniences during this visit. Corrective measures have been taken to address the issues and I am sure you would find a difference on your next visit.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Green Park Chennai.

Warm regards

Sudip Sengupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,150 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
904 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
996 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#28 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,271 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GreenPark Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenPark Chennai

Property: GreenPark Chennai
Address: Arcot Road | Vadapalani, Chennai (Madras) 600026, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#28 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — GreenPark Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a quick jog before a hearty breakfast to a relaxing foot massage before your journey back home, at GreenPark Chennai, every facility has been thought through to make your stay memorable. Just 12 km from the airport and 15 minutes from the city’s commercial hub, GreenPark Chennai is a hotel few businessmen skip in their itinerary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your GreenPark Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park - Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing