We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost & Found (Gold Chain)”
Review of GreenPark Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GreenPark Chennai
Ranked #20 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I had lost my gold chain, which was my engagement chain. After five days i had realized i do not have the gold chain with me. On the sixth day i contacted each and every one regarding the same friends, office staff, hotels in which i stayed, as the last hope i called up Hotel Green park, the staff in hotel Green park said they have it, they had tried contacting me regarding the same, as i was on travel (flight), they were unable to reach me they were ready to help me regarding the same.I deeply appreciate their sincerity, character and excellent service. Hats off to the entire team for being so honest. I got my life back.

The Breakfast and stay is very peaceful and homely. The staff is very welcoming. The hotel chauffeurs are very cool, and courteous.

Room Tip: everything is excellent. Just stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

two days back i went to a party hosted by Hotel Green Park for its privileged customers. I must say it was really lavish and pampering. The decor was stunning in the Shesh Mahal Hall. As a part of celebrations they hold annually to share their joy, Green Park invites its loyal customers and holds party every year. I am pleased to be a guest and i thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality. The food was superb. The staff was so warm and cordial, the food and beverages appeared so quickly despite a huge number of guests. The decor and the ambience of the evening was so tranquil and set the mood correctly. I suggest Green Park as an alternative to many star rated properties.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

As one of the reviewers here, I too called the hotel to book a banquet hall. I was met by a receptionist/customer care person who was in a pretty bad mood or one who doesn't know any customer service!!

He was saying there was no one today to answer my request but I just kept pleading him to confirm if they have any hall which can accommodate just 100 people. He sounded as if he is gonna beat me for asking him that and just hung up on me! The hotel management has to train its staff on customer service if they understand the nature of the business they're into!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aloysiuspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Buffet dinner is good but drinks are costly. But overall food spread and service in this section is good. 8.5/10 here.

Breakfast is ok (not as good as some of the US franchise hotels). One funny thing is that breakfast items are spread all over the area (360'). Juice bottles are exactly at opposite end of chicken/paratha etc main course items. Breads are again at diagonally opposite. Tea/coffee at other end. Items prepared at live counters (like dosa, masala omlet) are not having the best taste (very dull avg road side hotel taste). There are variety but quality? I am not sure.
If you go late you may not find fruit juice bottles are there (yes they don't keep fresh fruit juices in jar but put them in small refill bottle) and asking for can juices ? It may take 10mins to come if you are not so lucky. I'll give 5/10 in breakfast.

Many reviews mentioned clean rooms. But I found black stains on the padding behind bed, sofa sets (mark of hair oil ?). I have seen black stains bed sheets also, have to request room service to change them. But room service guys are good and usually they respond to customer issues on time. So have to give 7.5/10 here. But I would prefer a full carpet wall to wall and no black marks on sofa or switch panel should not have any black spots.

Beds are not as comfortable as some of other 4star hotels in similar price range (few branded ones). It's rather average roadside hotel bed. 5.5/10 here.

My observation and some of friends opinion is that this property is popular among locals/family man and more attention is given on this. So if you are business traveler looking for a clean cozy refreshing room, comfortable thick mattress, no oil stains, with a global outlook then this may not be the best choice.

But because of buffet dinner, I would still prefer this hotel (may be carrying a room freshener & putting my own bed sheet on the bed next time can help) as in hot humid weather it's difficult to get a nearby cozy place to have dinner. One more thing is that they provide free fruit platter - try it. Good one. For 24x7 room service food & dinner - it's 9/10 (not breakfast).

So many good points with few concerns. I hope during my next visit I'll see some improvement.
Overall average place for business traveler. For family man it may be an excellent option because of 24x7 foods options and proximity of market/bus station etc areas.

Room Tip: Ask for clean bed sheets,curtains and put some air freshner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessTraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have stayed at the Green Park twice on two separate business trips to Chennai. This is a good place to stay for a business trip, especially if your workplace is not too far away from the hotel, as was my case. The rooms are comfortable and hotel ranks high on value for money. The service, especially the front of house at the reception, certainly requires improvement. During my second visit, I had been double booked, and was told that I needed to get one of rooms cancelled to avoid any no show charges. However, this was not a simple matter of canceling the service, as the reservation had been made by my company's travel agency in USA and only they could get the room cancelled. I ended up calling my travel agency at 3:00 AM in the night after a long tiring journey from USA only to find out that they had only made one reservation. It was only on the next day that the reservations desk rectified the problem and cancelled my other reservation which had been erronously made. Apart from this issue, the rest of the stay had been pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swagat_Aacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Love staying here every time I visit Chennai for work. Efficient and courteous staff, an enjoyable breakfast buffet with a good spread, spacious clean rooms, good selection of TV channels, shower panels in bathrooms. Lively lobby in the evenings. All at a pretty economical rate. All-in-all, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirajM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Location of Green Park is central, rooms are spacious and clean. Buffet breakfast/lunch are good. My favourite place for dinner in Chennai is the pool side restaurant of this hotel. After sweating in the hot and humid day in Chennai its a pleasure to sit in the cool breeze by the pool side. They put on a screen if there is a cricket match. Food is grilled snacks and a buffet dinner.
Hotel also has a decent SPA. Staff is cooperative. They have a bar and a night club too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maninder_Pal_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,109 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,045 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
969 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#29 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,383 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GreenPark Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenPark Chennai

Address: Arcot Road | Vadapalani, Chennai (Madras) 600026, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Vadapalani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#39 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $72 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — GreenPark Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a quick jog before a hearty breakfast to a relaxing foot massage before your journey back home, at GreenPark Chennai, every facility has been thought through to make your stay memorable. Just 12 km from the airport and 15 minutes from the city’s commercial hub, GreenPark Chennai is a hotel few businessmen skip in their itinerary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your GreenPark Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park - Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing