We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , but poor maintenance and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #212 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I have booked this hotel for my friend who came from Delhi ....most of the hotels in chennai was fully booked and had no choice .. Found thru online and made a booking for him ... He gave me full negative feedback on this hotel.

Positive : good location
Easily accessible for shopping
Low rates
Spacious rooms

Negative :

Service was poor
Poor plumbing work in toilets
AC was not effective
Towel and bed sheets were not clean
You have to wait unreasonable time for every single request

If hotel management improve on those aspect , they may be a better choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajiv2012chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarcityChennai, Guest Relations Manager at Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

This was a one off issue. We are sorry if our services are not upto standards.

We are currently upgrading our property and it is now managed by the internationally recognized leading Hotel and Resort Chain - Aitken Spence Hotels so you are assured of a superior level of service, comfort and facilities.

We request you to stay with us again and guarantee a better experience.

sincerely

Sarah Swaroop
Web Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 86 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Supposedly, I thought of purchasing a direct flight to Kolkata but the air fare was surpirsingly higher compared to two air tickets. So I decided to stay in Chennai, do some sight-seeing for one day, then fly to Kolkata, then again back to Chennai for 2 days before returning to port of origin. I’ve got a good Egyptian GM who took care of my stay in Chennai. The Administrator of Indian Nationality who properly informed the hotel of my arrivals and departures was patient with my questions. It’s also worth mentioning, our reliable Pilot (Indian company driver) who is always at the airport on time to pick me up and drop me at the hotel at strange hours… The room given to me was clean. Probably because the company has been a good paying client to this hotel. The Mainland China restaurant which is beside the hotel serves lunch buffet, which I truly enjoyed. There’s another restaurant which you should also try just after the mainland china, it’s The Grand Sweet & Snacks, where all waiters and waitresses (even the owner) are not wearing any foot wear. Ask them not to make it too spicy for you and they will do it. If you are looking for breakfast at sevenish, just ask for the directions to Idli Murugan. They serve food on banana leaves, take dosai! You may want to ask for bottled water too. On my way to Idli Murugan restaurant I saw this cute squirrel falling in front of me from a tree! First time to see such a beautiful creature. Downside of this hotel? It does not have a transfer service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASBUCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarcityChennai, Guest Relations Manager at Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Hello,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will also consider your inputs in providing a transfer service for all our international guests. We would be very happy to host you again soon in the future and provide a more delightful stay for your enjoyment.

sincerely

Sarah Swaroop
Web Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

To simply describe it in one word, its a TERRIBLE hotel.. never ever stay here.. I booked this hotel based on the images uploaded on make my trip.. they are not the actual images.. They dont have a restaurant.. so even if you want a cup of tea, you have to rely upon those most untrustworthy staff.. Added to that, my rooms AC wasnt working.. They took more than an hour to shift me to some other terrible room..

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank YesuY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarcityChennai, Guest Relations Manager at Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

We presume you were unhappy with our service or probably expected something else. However, making baseless accusations against us is so unfair especially when you are factually incorrect.

- We do have a premium in-house restaurant "Mainland China", present inside our property. Mainland China is a leading specialty restaurant in India. We wonder how you missed it ? We also don't have a record of you ordering tea anytime during the stay.

- Our property is currently managed by the internationally recognized leading Hotel and Resort Chain - Aitken Spence and in spite of being a Serviced Apartment, we aim to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

- The images on the site are indeed all real and also feature pictures of our other properties. There are no fake pictures as you claim.

- When a guest wishes to change rooms, you have to factor the time to make it ready before you move. We did our best in moving you to be a superior room but you still complain.

In any case, you could have also contacted us via our feedback link on our website or via our customer services email present prominently all across the property.

We would still be happy to welcome and host you again in the future soon.

sincerely

Sarah Swaroop
Web Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Star city service apartment is superb place to stay in, clean, clean, clean super clean, value for money, good service, friendly staff and they are really helpful, close to T nagar and other places. Mainland china restaurant in the building, mmm yummy had a good time.. Specially soup items was awesome. Grand sweet restaurant is near by apartment, nice sweets and vegetarian Dum Briyani mmm yummy..
Overall 10/10 we will go back again. Highly recommended place to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luxshiya Kandee... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location is superb. The property is on the broad Bazullah Road and so there are no congestions whatsoever. Parking is ample. The T Nagar shopping district is close by. If you relish Chinese food, the Mainland China restaurant is just on the ground floor. You can see this long restaurant through the air tight glass panes as you walk through the lobby of this serviced apartment and there is not even a whiff of the usually strong aroma of Chinese food. If you need South Indian fare, the Grand Sweet's new restaurant is just adjascent ! The staff is very courteous and efficient and helpul too. The rooms are good but not in the luxury category. It has basic amenities. The studio apartment is just like any other hotel room, may be a little bigger. But the larger deluxe rooms have a separate living room and a kitchenette. Murugan Idli - a popular south Indian restaurant ( The next door Grand Sweets restaurant do not open until 12 noon and so for breakfast you will need to either go out or order the food to your room) is walkable distance but one has to be careful on the main North Usman Road as the traffics is horrible. We stayed there for 5 nights and the experience was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewDelhiFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarcityChennai, Guest Relations Manager at Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in writing this review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Star City Serviced Apartments. We would love to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We travelled from Australia (family of 4) and stayed in 1 bedroom for 3 nights in January. We felt like it's a home away from home. All the room facilities were great. And the staff was really helpful in guiding us for shopping, restaurants and local travel. The Mainland China restaurant in the building was excellent. No complaints from kids so we were happy as parents.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a good clean place to stay in the heart of the shopping district of Chennai. All the famous silk, jewellery & clothes shops like Nalli, Kumaran, Sundari silks, Sarvana stores, Pothy's, GRT, VBJ etc are within a 10 minute walking radius. It has a Mainland China restaurant within its premises and Grand sweets (a very popular sweets & snacks chain in Chennai) right next to it. The place is not very luxurious but has all basic amenities. The room service staff are friendly and get tea/coffee, lunch etc for you from outside. Apart from Mainland China, it does not have have an in-house kitchen or pantry. But all in all a good place to stay. The studio apartments don't come with a kitchen attached but the larger deluxe rooms come with a seperate living room and a fully equipped kitchen.

Room Tip: If your staying with family its better you go for a deluxe room as it has an attached kitchen with a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shashi__sarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Velachery
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apartments
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apart...
#87 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
49 reviews
FabHotel Blossoms T Nagar
#98 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
37 reviews
Red Sun Serviced Apartments
#241 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#92 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
307 reviews
Hotel Raj Palace
#132 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
86 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#56 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments

Address: 39 Bazullah Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India (Formerly Star City Bazullah Road)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $36 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star City Chennai Serviced Apartments & Villas, the first and finest Serviced Apartments in Chennai is the first choice for both business and leisure travellers and just 30 minutes away from the airport and from the Central Railway station.Combining prime locations across Chennai with modern facilities we ensure that our guests experience the maximum in comfort and convenience during their stay at any of our 5 Luxury serviced apartments and villas in T.Nagar (now managed by the internationally acclaimed hotel and resort chain - Aitken Spence Hotels) and Nungambakkam. Our superb air conditioned serviced apartments, studios, suites and independent guest house villas across Chennai offer you a choice of large one bedroom, two bedroom or three bedroom accommodations featuring spacious living and dining areas, full kitchenette facilities besides room service, restaurant, house keeping and business center facilities. All assured with a personal level of service that you won't find in any other serviced apartment hotel in Chennai. Enjoy a free breakfast everyday (depending on your stay plan), meet informally with clients or friends, conduct a board meeting, dine at our specialty Mainland China restaurant and at close of the day, relax in the comfort and space of your fully furnished service apartment in Chennai.When you stay at any of our 5 StarCity Apartment hotel & villa properties across Chennai, we're confident that you will have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and most importantly, be surprised at the great value that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing