We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and strange deluxe rooms (unlike a star category)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pride Hotel Chennai
Ranked #104 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Guwahati
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor service and strange deluxe rooms (unlike a star category)”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

very first impression : Bad management, inefficient service and a mixture of opposites. Stayed for just one night with my family on transit. The room I booked was a deluxe room. However, the moment we entered the room, we felt like suffocating. Not at all organised and a very congested room considering the tariff of Rs. 4000 plus and a claim to be 4 star property. Bath was a 4x4 space where you cannot move your body freely. To top this all one can easily peep inside the bath room through a big gap on the side of the door frame. later on I was given to know that all these category rooms have the same problem and to my surprise no one complained about it in all these years of the hotel's glorious existence. The room was decorated unnecessarily with mirrors on all sides like a mirror museum. The luggage rack was not adequate to place one big suitcase. However, we expressed our discontent to the manager and our demand to shift to a different room was not taken seriously and it took the management almost 6 hours to shift us to a better room. The new room was a far better one and we had no issues thereafter. Food was okay but very costly. Complementary breakfast was good. I am certain that this property cannot be a 4 star one contrary to their claim. Not recommended for families who are on a vacation. stayed with family on 21st October'13.

Room Tip: avoid deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manijyoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Hotel Chennai, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest.
Greetings from the Pride Hotel Chennai….!!!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We regret the inconvenience caused to you and sincerely apologies for not being able to stand up to our commitment of service. We have taken note of your comments and are investigating the same on priority.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you.
Regards.
Samir Kumar Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    148
    114
    35
    29
See reviews for
54
56
48
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hotel is in the City near to Central Station and Wholesale markets, not suited if you are suppose to have work near airport.
After the previous day in another chennai hotel had to shift here due to my friend and colleague forced pressure.
Rooms are neat and clean, with bedsheet, pillows, duvet everything worked fine, AC was ok.
Washroom is tooo small, i mean with my large body had to really adjust myself in this, otherwise it is clean and towels also good.
We had room service of various nonveg and veg dishes as had an groupover for more then 6people, food can be given rating of 3.5/5, but staff although efficient and soft spoken, has no clue on what can be ordered and what is the specialty of the hotel.
No major love, at same time no major complaints with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docvini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, Manager at Pride Hotel Chennai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Pride Hotel Chennai….!!!

I wish to place it on record our sincerest gratitude for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team at The Pride ,Chennai ,would look forward to welcome you back at the hotel during your next visit to the city.
Regards,
Samir Kumar Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had choosen pride for first time,The property is awesome great ambiance,great service and goes on especially the room Its was an amazing experience Well trained housekeepind staff Anita , always she anticipates all my preferences and keeps my room Impeccable, i was impressed with the swan which was made with the towels,though the restroom was small but it is well maintained, will recommend Pride for sure,

Well done guys keep it up and all the very best!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebenahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Hotel Chennai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest .
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel.I am indeed happy to note that the hotel and the services were up to your expectations. We at the hotel would love to see you again.
Regards
Samir Kumar Sharma
General Manager
gm.chennai@pridehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
373 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

On check-In we were told that our suitcases would be brought to the room. We would gladly have rolled them the fee meters to the luft ourselves, if we had known it would take ages before they arrived, appearently no bellboy on duty, as it eventually was one of the guys from the gym which brought them.
Two times we contacted the reception to have the safe fixed. Both times they said they would send somebody immediately, but nothing happeded.
The room looked pretty smart, but the fancy lights did not work very well for reading. Our Executive room had a decent sized desk, however In the darkest corner of the room without any light source
At the bathroom we found a stained showet courtain and greyish towels
The worst thing, however, was the smell at the room. Probably from the carpet or from the air con.
We decided to go the bar before dinner. The bar was so dark that we had to take out our torches to read the bar list. We were happy to find a full page of wines, However it turned out that of the long list none of the whites and only one red was available.
Our last stop, the rood top restaurant, however, was the only highlight of this stay. Superb food, well presented, nice atmosphere
We had to check out early (by the way a slow process), so cannot say anything about breakfast

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Hotel Chennai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Pride Hotel Chennai….!!!

,I thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.Your observations on the service aspects are duly noted,and I would like to assure you that you would find the definite improvements on these areas. I would be more than happy to meet you in person on your next visit to the hotel.Thank you.
Regards,
Samir Kumar Sharma
General Manager
gm.chennai@pridehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
459 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

It is a average performance hotel. mainly wi fi charged for an hour rs250 and 500 + tax for per day...location not close to any important area... only business hotel.. food is not that much good... service is little bit ok...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oshylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Hotel Chennai, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Pride Hotel Chennai….!!!

I thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.Your observations on the service aspects are duly noted, and I would like to assure you that you would find the definite improvements on these areas. I would be more than happy to meet you in person on your next visit to the hotel.Thank you.
Regards,
Samir Kumar Sharma
General Manager
gm.chennai@pridehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I prefer Pride Chennai for it offers a very comfortable stay. clean and even the smaller rooms are well-designed, functional spaces. The coffee shop on the ground floor is a nice, quiet place to work. The service has always been wrost like anything

Room Tip: room service help desk should have healthy respect towards to customers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naggy_Rajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Hotel Chennai, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience at the Pride Hotel, Chennai .

At Pride Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I have noted your feedback, please be rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Regards.
Samir Kumar Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I prefer Pride Chennai for it offers a very comfortable stay. People are helpful and courteous. The rooms are excellent - clean and even the smaller rooms are well-designed, functional spaces. The coffee shop on the ground floor is a nice, quiet place to work. The service has always been quick. I only wish they served a wider variety of south indian food. Else, its a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSNarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Hotel Chennai, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Pride Hotel Chennai….!!!

I wish to place it on record our sincerest gratitude for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team at The Pride ,Chennai ,would look forward to welcome you back at the hotel during your next visit to the city.
Regards,
Samir Kumar Sharma
General Manager
gm.chennai@pridehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Abu Sarovar Portico
#66 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
156 reviews
Nungambakkam
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ramada Chennai Egmore
#35 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
839 reviews
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
#55 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Chennai
#48 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
634 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
Alwarpet South
Treebo Select Fortel
Treebo Select Fortel
#263 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pride Hotel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Hotel Chennai

Property: Pride Hotel Chennai
Address: E V R Periyar Salai 216, Poonamallee High Road | Kilpauk, Chennai (Madras) 600010, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pride Hotel Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pride Hotel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pride Hotels Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing