We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel”
Review of The Royal Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Regency
Ranked #126 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was an average hotel and a little old one too. but place almost an half an hour from central chennai. the complimentary breakfast was good one and staff were courteous and gentle and helpful. But as i said tiles had cracks and faded since it is old. Price i guess is correct. Lunch was not that good and not so economical.
Over all an average hotel

Room Tip: avoid paid foods
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiranlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 92 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Budget Hotel for long stay. buffet dinner quality require improvement. Rooms are spacious. near to Chennai Central Rly Station & not far from Chennai airport. staff curtsy is excellent. Director Girish Menon is highly experience for customer relationship. Regular visitor in hotel for frequent visits.

Room Tip: Garden side room should prefer as other side sound of running trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parmar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in Nov 2012..Room was good, it had a nice view.., Room Service used to take a long long time..On the first night we ordered for 2 water bottles (becoz it was not provided in the room) but it came after 2 reminders in 30 minutes. We ordered for food again it took 45 minutes and bowls were not provided for Dal. Next day we were informed that the break fast will be available till 1030 but it was over till 1000. In the night we decided to take dinner in the restaurant , again there was a waiting period of 30 minutes. Food was poor, rotis were half baked and vegetables were very bad in taste. I believe they property is fairly good but they should take care of the service and food.

Room Tip: Executive Rooms are really bad Please choose premiere room or above..we were booked for a executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anirudh1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had actually booked accommodation at their other property - Royal Park - which is closer to the Chennai Consulate as I had business there. I had made the booking via Expedia.

I called them later to make corrections to the booking and was informed that Royal Park was actually closed for the duration and I would be put up at Royal Regency for the same cost. They would be throwing in an Airport pickup and a US Consulate drop (which is further from this property) to sweeten the deal.

As I did not want to waste more time hunting, I took up their offer.

They sent a decently nice car (Ford Etios) to pick me and my wife at the Chennai Airport. The drive to the hotel from the airport is 17km - but takes about 75 mins during the normal times of the day.

The hotel is situated in a pretty central area and most shops and restaurants that you would need to go to are a small rickshaw ride away.

On arrival, we were served a complimentary welcome drink (watermelon juice) and shown to our rooms by the staff which was really courteous. We later ordered some room service which was pretty prompt, quantity sufficient and taste - good.

So overall, the food was good and reasonable and the staff really went out of their way to help us.

The room however, was a major disappointment. I am not sure whether they put up us up at a cheaper place - I didn't ask what category the room was - but it was a little damp and felt a bit mossy. Overall, it felt a little cheap.

The walls, it seems, were paper thin as you could hear everything - including people walking outside the room - and there was plenty of walking and humming outside.

So overall, I was a touch disappointed considering I was spending Rs. 4500 a night for the kind of room I got - especially after the group of hotels cancelled my original room and didn't even bother to inform me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mod8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Good connectivity. Wash rooms are not hygienic. Food is good. Service is good. Nice entrance. Spacious room. Wifi is available and good spacious rooms. Renovation is going on. Need to speed up the process to have nice review. Banquet is good. value for money.

Room Tip: Value for service and money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhaumik_amin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Royal Regency with my friends The rooms are clean and comfortable with neat and clean bathrooms the staff was helpfull the hotels looks like recently renovated the room service is for 24hrs so we availed as we checked in very late

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagrikaresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Walkin distance from Chennai Central.Budget hotel
.Banquet is quite small.Announcing system quality is not good.
Rooms are not bad compared to rate.
Multiquisine restaurant is there.Food is quite good.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in upper floor, can get some good view of picturesque Central buldiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LITTLEDRAGONKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Emarald Hotel
#204 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
69 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#288 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#56 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
671 reviews
Hotel Pearl International
#101 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
147 reviews
FabHotel Metro Manor Central Sta...
#295 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Regency

Address: 26/27 Poonamallee High Road | Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $41 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Regency is a Boutique hotel with 103 well furnished rooms, a Multi Cuisine Restaurant and 5 Banquet Hall. It is located in between Chennai Central and Chennain Egmore Railway Stations - only 1/2 Km from each. 24 hrs public transport is available from Koyambedu Interstate Bus Terminal and Airport is 18 Km apart. Egmore Museum, Marina Beach, International Leather Hub, Chennai Port, J. Nehru Stadium, Govt. Madras Medical College etc are nearest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Regency Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing