We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regenta Central Deccan
Nearby Hotels
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$120
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$187
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$58
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$71
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$130
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$84
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Residency(Chennai (Madras))
$55
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$135
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
46
107
67
20
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
107
67
20
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarina beachvegetarian hotelvalue for moneyvegetarian foodhuge spreadbusiness tourshort staycourteous staffadded advantagedecent hotelbuffet breakfastthe heart of the citydosanice place to stayhotel is locatedspecial thanksexcellent service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 264 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The ambiance and the location are good.The staff-esp front office is not up to the expectation-ditto house keeping staff.The staff is not too responsive and at times do not pay heed to the guest requests.There is a room for improvement in the breakfast quality.It is more to suit the South Indian taste buds.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSA17_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and also for your valuable feedback. We would like to inform you that the subject has been taken up with the team effectively and the breakfast menu has been re worked by our experienced chef. We would look forward to welcoming you back at Deccan Plaza.

You can reach me at gm@deccanhotels.com for any communication and assistance.

Thanking you,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is impressive, was better than my expectation for the tariff charged, had to wait for 45 minutes for check-in, We were there for 3 days, there was hardly any variation in the breakfast being served & stale idlys being served. on day 2 housekeeping did not replace the soap, on day 3 on complaining to the boy who was cleaning our rooms he started blaming someone else, inspite of complaining the same boy had the nerve to replace only one soap & removed the floor mat/towel without replacing the same. except for the breakfast & poor service by the house-keeping rest everything was fine, specially the rooms are very good, good location, easily accessible.


  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Prakash N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Deccan Plaza, Chennai!!!

We sincerely thank you for staying with us and for the feedback posted on tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and necessary measures have been taken to prevent such shortfall.

Looking forward to serve you better in all your future visits. Please reach me at gm@deccanhotels.com for any assistance or further communications.

With Regards,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Staying at Deccan Plaza Chennai was a good Experience. Its a good hotel for the business visits. Breakfast were having many Options as well as the hotel organised food festivals which offered variety of dishes were awesome and having a good Taste. The Improvement needed is in the front office staff. Check in process is a bit delayed. The front office staff was not so friendly and helpful rest others support staff were good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrashantC1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Deccan Plaza - Chennai

We thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chennai and deeply value your feedback. We are glad to know that you have liked our food in terms of variety and quality at the same time, we are regretful as inconvenience caused to you during check in process. Be assured the same has been taken up with the team to narrow the cause of concerns. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Thanking you,

Sukomal Sarkar,
General Manager
gm@deccanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

DAY 1: Reached hotel at 9:45 PM
Checked in to room #509 at front desk at 10:15 PM as the room was getting ready.
Problem with rooms card reader(key) and had to wait for the in charge for manual keys.
After 15 mins found that in charge is not there and so they gave room #302. (We had booked for double bed room but this was a single bed room as none of the other double bed rooms were ready.)
All done and settled down on bed at 11:15 PM to find out that, BED IS HARD AS ROCK. Checked with front desk and found out that, these are fine beds imported from Singapore, but it is missing the cousin lining on top and he also confirmed that all the beds in the hotel are like this. (belive me, it is really hard).
With no other option left, i slept at 12 AM.

DAY 2: Came back from work and found that the room wasn't cleaned. Called up the front desk and they said that house keeping people are not available and i was moved to a different room #804. As soon as I turned the AC on, weird noise was coming and the AC wasn't working. Called up front desk and they said they will send technician. He came after 10 mins and checked some wiring and told that there was some loose contact.
Then came the issue with the WIFI in the new room. You get the signal only near the window and on the side of the bed wifi doesnt work.

The front desk assistant Mr.Murali Krishnan was very very rude when i tried to explain him the problem. I had to talk to his manager to get some proper response for my issues. Finally he agreed to give complementary dinner, but still I was very disappointing by the hotel service.

Attached some of the pics from the room, which shows the poor quality.

Internet works well as long as you get signal. Uploading this review using their internet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings!!!

We thank you for staying with us and for your comments/suggestions. We regret the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We at Deccan Plaza strive for guest satisfaction and unfortunately this time we could not reach your and our own expectations. We deeply value your comments and taken up the points seriously with the team and the higher management. We understand that by no means it would dilute the inconvenience you have been through but knowing the reasons would help us guard against such shortcomings in future.

Once again we apologize for the inconveniences and look forward to welcoming you back at Deccan Plaza to ensure a pleasant stay. Please reach me at gm@deccanhotels.com for assistance or communication.

With Regards,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good hotel for business purpose and provides good service.
- Very good for attending US Counsulate Interview
- Near to the US counsulate
- Ambience is good
- And even the service
- Located at the central place
- Breakfast is very good with variey of options for North Indian dishes and South indian dishes including the western dishes

Room Tip: Very good for US Counsulate interviews.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpyapali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our privilege and pleasure to have your stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. Thank you so much for your all positive comments. Very delighted to know that you liked our Hotel, Team and Hospitality Services.

We at Hotel Deccan Plaza, look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back to Chennai on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews